Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Wrestling: Iowa’s Cory Clark wins NCAA championship; Hawkeyes place 4th

ST. LOUIS – University of Iowa senior Cory Clark defeated South Dakota State’s Seth Gross, 4-3, on Saturday night to win the 133-pound title at the 2017 NCAA Wrestling Championships.

Clark, a four-time All-American making his third straight finals appearance, scored the match-winning takedown with 1:24 left in the third period to win his first national championship.

“Did I ever think it was going to get done? I thought if it wouldn’t have got done it would have been a disaster because that was my goal as a senior in high school,” Clark said. “I always set high goals. I always said four-time NCAA champ was my goal. I didn’t really tell anybody that, but that was my goal.

“Each year I didn’t accomplish that it hurt me inside. So to get it done this year is incredible. It means a lot. It’s incredible to finally get this done.”

Clark finished his senior season 20-3. He missed significant time throughout the season with wrist and shoulder injuries, but returned to the lineup full-time in the middle of February and won nine of his last 10, including five straight at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis.

“It wasn’t easy,” Clark said of his final collegiate match. “I wanted to get my mind as still as possible. My brain was kind of racing out on the mat. It took some toughness out of me to really gut that one out. (Gross) is a tough opponent.”

Gross struck first in the match, recording a takedown at the 1:03 mark of the first period. Clark escaped to cut the lead in half and opened the second period with an escape to tie the match, 2-2.

Gross regained the lead with an escape in the third, but with 1 minute and 24 seconds on the clock, Clark finished the winning shot and completed the victory with a rideout.

Clark is the 54th Hawkeye in program history to win an NCAA wrestling title. Those 54 winners have totaled 82 individual national championships. He is also one of just 19 four-time All-Americans in program history.

The Hawkeyes finished the tournament in fourth place with 97 points. Penn State won the team title, followed by Ohio State and Oklahoma State. Iowa finished with five All-Americans, including seniors Clark, Thomas Gilman, and Sammy Brooks, junior Brandon Sorensen, and redshirt freshman Michael Kemerer.

197 – #1 J’den Cox (Missouri) dec. #2 Brett Pfarr (Minnesota), 8-2
285 – #1 Kyle Snyder (Ohio State) dec. #2 Connor Medbery (Wisconsin), 6-3
125 – #4 Darian Cruz (Lehigh) dec.. # 6 Ethan Lizak (Minnesota), 6-3
133 – #4 Cory Clark (Iowa) dec. #2 Seth Gross (South Dakota State), 4-3
141 – #1 Dean Heil (Oklahoma State) dec. #6 George DiCamillo (Virginia), 6-3
149 – #1 Zain Retherford (Penn State) technical fall #3 Lavion Mayes (Missouri), 18-2
157 – #1 Jason Nolf (Penn State) major dec. #3 Joey Lavallee (Missouri), 14-6
165 – #3 Vincenzo Joseph (Penn State) pinned #1 Isaiah Martinez (Illinois), 5:25
174 – #5 Mark Hall (Penn State) dec. #3 Bo Jordan (Ohio State), 5-2
184 – #2 Bo Nickal (Penn State) dec. #1 Gabe Dean (Cornell), 4-3

Team Scores
1. Penn State 146.5
2. Ohio State 110.0
3. Oklahoma State 103.0
4. Iowa 97.0
5. Missouri 86.5
6. Virginia Tech 63.5
7. Minnesota 62.5
8. Cornell 60.5
9. Nebraska 59.5
10. Michigan 47.5

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:


Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x