Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Air Force Academy selects students from Cedar Falls, Sioux City, Madrid and Keokuk

WASHINGTON – Senator Chuck Grassley said today that Nicholas Heth of Cedar Falls, Taylor Pluim of Sioux City, Jacob Romitti of Madrid, and Cody Winkler of Keokuk have received appointments to the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colorado, for the 2013-2014 school year.

Heth is the son of Carol and Steven Heth.  He graduated from Cedar Falls High School in May 2012 and has been a student at the University of Iowa.  Heth is an Eagle Scout and was active in high school in the Student Senate, Junior and Senior Leadership, football, cross country, and soccer.  He is a member of the Big House worship group at Orchard Hill Church.

Pluim is the son of Marla and Mark Pluim.  He will graduate in May from East High School in Sioux City.  Pluim is the co-founder of Siouxland Change for Children and on the Mayor’s Youth Commission.  He is active in the Civil Air Patrol and Mentors in Violence Prevention.  Pluim is a member of the National Honor Society and the Spanish National Honor Society, and he is a peer tutor.  He also participates in high school baseball and golf.

Romitti is the son of Yvonne and Barry Romitti.  He will graduate in May from Cienega High School in Tucson, Arizona, due to his father’s military assignment.  He is an Eagle Scout, Boy Scout troop leader, and member of the Order of the Arrow.  Romitti is Student Body President and active in track and field, soccer, cross country and swimming.

Winkler is the son of Maureen Weston.  He will graduate in June from Keokuk Senior High School, where he is a member of the National Honor Society, Student Council, and Yearbook Committee.  He participates in Keokuk High School Konnections, football, wrestling, and track.

“Admission to the service academies is highly competitive and a great honor,” Grassley said.  “Students work very hard to earn this kind of opportunity, and I join their friends, families and communities in wishing them well.”

Grassley said that Orion Boylston and Bernard Forney of Ames and Matthew Lee and Jackson Peplow of Iowa City were selected this year for fall admission to the U.S. Naval Academy.  In addition, Adam Bradley of Dubuque, Brett Morales of Davenport, Patrick Mullin of Cedar Rapids, and Wilson Pingrey of Coon Rapids have been appointed for fall admission to the U.S. Military Academy at West Point.

All of these students were among the Iowans Grassley nominated this year for appointments to the U.S. service academies.  Information about seeking nominations is posted at

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x