Breakthrough Web Design - 515-897-1144 - Web sites for businesses
News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Founded October 1, 2010

Pres. Trump issues disaster declaration for 7 Iowa counties

This news story was published on August 28, 2017.
Advertise on NIT Subscribe to NIT

Iowa storm

DES MOINES – Gov. Kim Reynolds received word Sunday that President Donald Trump approved her request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for seven Iowa counties impacted by flooding and severe weather July 19-23, 2017.

The counties included in the declaration are: Allamakee, Bremer, Buchanan, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette and Mitchell.

The declaration will provide federal funding to the included counties under the Public Assistance Program. A Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance puts into motion long-term federal recovery programs, some of which are partially matched by state programs and designed to help public entities and select non-profits.

Public Assistance funds may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities and may include debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair of damaged public property, loans needed by communities for essential government functions and grants for public schools. Damage assessments in the seven declared counties showed an estimated $7 million worth of damage that could be eligible under the Public Assistance Program.

The governor also received notification that the Presidential Disaster Declaration includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state. With this funding, Iowa will be able to minimize the impact of future disasters by taking steps to reduce or eliminate long-term risk to people and property from natural hazards.​

The governor requested the declaration on Aug. 10, 2017.

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available

One Response to Pres. Trump issues disaster declaration for 7 Iowa counties

  1. Anonymous Reply Report comment

    August 28, 2017 at 4:34 pm

    10 to 1 Water quality/pollution in the pig state won’t come up.