Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Worth county added to presidential disaster declaration

Gov. Terry Branstad
Gov. Terry Branstad
DES MOINES – Governor Terry Branstad today announced that Howard and Worth counties, which were affected by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding in late spring, have been added to the Presidential Disaster Declaration granted July 2, 2013.

This declaration provides assistance to state and local governments and certain nonprofit organizations (including rural electric cooperatives and municipal utilities) for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. The initial counties eligible for Public Assistance were Appanoose, Benton, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, Davis, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Hardin, Henry, Ida, Iowa, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lyon, Mahaska, Marshall, Mitchell, Monona, Monroe, O’Brien, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Poweshiek, Sac, Sioux, Story, Tama, Wapello, Webster, Winnebago, and Wright.

Public Assistance program funds are available to public entities and select non-profit agencies in 49 counties to rebuild damaged infrastructure that may include roads, bridges, culverts, and other public facilities, or to cover costs of emergency work during the severe weather that occurred from May 19 to June 14, 2013.

The Presidential Disaster Declaration also includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state. With this funding, Iowa will be able to minimize the impact of future natural disasters by taking steps now to strengthen existing infrastructure.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x