Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Branstad names Jason Carlstrom chair of the Iowa Board of Parole

(DES MOINES) – Gov. Terry Branstad today named Jason Carlstrom, of Spirit Lake, as chair of the Iowa Board of Parole, effective September 3.

Carlstrom, 41, replaces Doris Kelley, who will resume her responsibilities as vice chair of the board.

“Jason will be a great leader for this board, and brings with him an unmatched ability and experience,” said Branstad. “I am excited to see the great work he will do on behalf of Iowans in his new role of service.”

Carlstrom is currently the Dickinson County Attorney. Prior to this elected position, he served as an attorney in private practice, and was an adjunct professor at both Buena Vista University and Iowa Lakes Community College.

“I am excited to serve in this new position, as we look to find effective, efficient and streamlined operations,” said Carlstrom. “This is an exciting time for the Iowa Parole Board, as Governor Branstad has made it a priority to improve its services.”

Branstad thanked Doris Kelley for her work, and is pleased she will continue serving on the board in a leadership capacity.

“I want to thank Doris for her outstanding work during this transition period, and am excited to see her resume her responsibilities as vice chair,” said Branstad. “Her time was extremely valuable for the board, as she led on a number of positive new initiatives.”

“Jason Carlstrom is taking the reins at an important time for the Iowa Board of Parole, and I look forward to seeing the great work he’ll accomplish,” said Kelley. “I will work with him every day to ensure the needs of this board are met in order to effectively serve the people of Iowa.”

Carlstrom will move to the Des Moines metro area, where he will reside full-time.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:


Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: