Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

NIACC’s Amenzou sets 8K school record at Arkansas Chile Pepper

Imad Amenzou (NIACC photo)
Imad Amenzou
(NIACC photo)
FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – NIACC sophomore Imad Amenzou set an 8-kilometer school record in a time of 25 minutes, 12 seconds at the University of Arkansas Chile Pepper Saturday morning.

Amenzou, who placed 67th, broke the old mark of 25:24 by Trey Simons at the 2014 St. Ambrose Invitational.

No. 16 (NJCAA Division I) NIACC placed 26 out of 33 teams in the college division with 711 points.

Also for the Trojans, Jacob Day was 318th in 27:43, Tyler Randall was 343rd in 27:59, Nick Frenz was 362nd in 28:14, John Enright was 404th in 29:12, Jose Aguilera was 429th in 29:59 and Aaron Hardcastle was 451st in 31:25.

Frenz, Enright and Hardcastle all recorded personal-best 8K times.
Also in Saturday’s men’s race, former NIACC standout Jaime Zarate, who runs for Southeast Missouri State University, was 94th in a time of 25:32.

In the women’s race, NIACC freshman Jessica Blumberg placed 209th in 19:18 in the 5K race to lead the No. 10 Lady Trojans to a 25th place finish out of 33 teams in the college division with 743 points.

The 19:18 by Blumberg was the third fastest time in school history behind Hannah Palmeter (17:51 in 2014) and Anna Buenneke (18:15 in 2011).

Also for the NIACC women, Emerson Sears was 317th in 20:25, Alyssa Cowan was 334th in 20:41, Kendra Schmidt was 344th in 20:50, Lattie Crozier was 360th in 21:07,Jordan Lane was 393rd in 21:58 and Taylor Glawe was 415th in 23:08.

Sears, Schmidt, Lane and Glawe all recorded personal-best 5K times. Sears’ time was the 12th fastest in school history and Schmidt’s ranks 17th in school history.

NIACC returns to action Oct. 16 at the Loras College Dr. Tucker Invitational in Dubuque.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:


Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: