Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

College Wrestling: No. 3 Iowa State edges No. 14 Northern Iowa, 19-12

CEDAR FALLS – In front of a record-setting crowd at the McLeod Center, #3 Iowa State downed the #14 UNI Panthers for the fourth-straight time, winning four of the final five bouts, 19-14.

CEDAR FALLS – In front of a record-setting crowd at the McLeod Center, #3 Iowa State downed the #14 UNI Panthers for the fourth-straight time, winning four of the final five bouts, 19-14.

With 5,754 spectators in the stands, UNI (7-4, 5-3 Big 12) set a new record for attendance in a wrestling event inside the McLeod Center. The program’s all-time attendance record for wrestling was set back on Feb. 7, 1976 in a dual against Iowa in the first-ever event to be held inside the UNI-Dome.

Iowa State (15-2, 7-0 Big 12) has now won 18 Big 12 duals in a row, its longest conference unbeaten streak in program history. It bests a streak of 17 duals (16-0-1) by the Cyclones from 1962-65.

After Ethan Perryman dropped a tough battle at 125 pounds, Zach Redding got ISU on the board with a win over No. 11 Kyle Biscoglia in sudden victory. Redding couldn’t muster a takedown in regulation but used a reversal in the second period to counter a pair of Biscoglia escapes. The Cyclone managed a go-behind in the winner-take-all period to secure the upset, 4-2.

No. 8 Cael Happel used a takedown in the third period to defeat Casey Swiderski 4-3 at 141 pounds. Paniro Johnson notched a third-period takedown, as he beat Adam Allard 3-1. At 157 pounds, No. 20 Derek Holschlag defeated Jason Kraisser 4-1.

The run of Cyclone victories started with No. 2 David Carr at 165 pounds. Carr picked up the first bonus point victory of the match, as he beat No. 15 Austin Yant by 20-6 major decision. Carr recorded seven takedowns, including three in the third period, to seal the victory. The win was the 24th-straight victory for Carr, as he improved to 84-2 in his career. A big third period by MJ Gaitan led to a 9-5 victory over Lance Runyon at 174 pounds. Gaitan had a pair of takedowns, including one that turned into a four-point nearfall.

At 184 pounds, the rivalry between No. 2 Parker Keckeisen and No. 4 Marcus Coleman lived up to the hype. Coleman took an early lead on a first period takedown, but Keckeisen was able to even the match at 3-3 going to the second period. An escape and takedown in the second period for Keckeisen was enough for the 7-5 victory.

No. 4 Yonger Bastida earned a 12-6 decision at 197 pounds against Wyatt Voelker. Bastida had two takedowns in each of the first two periods and added a fifth takedown in the third period for good measure. At heavyweight, Sam Schuyler continued his winning ways to seal the Cyclone victory by beating No. 15 Tyrell Gordon 4-1. Schuyler had a first period takedown and an escape in the second before earning a point for riding time.

Up Next
Iowa State is back in action Sunday at noon against No. 20 Illinois as part of Beauty and the Beast.

The Panthers will close out the dual season next Saturday, Feb. 18 at 7 p.m. CT as UNI visits No. 18 Wisconsin. Competition is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. CT from the UW Fieldhouse in Madison, with live results available through TrackWrestling and a livestream online through a BTN+ subscription.

Match-by-Match Results
No. 3 Iowa State 19, No. 14 Northern Iowa 12
125: Kyle Gollhofer (UNI) dec. Ethan Perryman (ISU), 8-6
133: Zach Redding (ISU) dec. Kyle Biscoglia (UNI), 4-2
141: Cael Happel (UNI) dec. Casey Swiderski (ISU), 4-3
149: Paniro Johnson (ISU) vs. Adam Allard (UNI) or Cael Rahnavardi (UNI)
157: Derek Holschlag (UNI) dec. Jason Kraisser (ISU), 4-1
165: David Carr (ISU) maj. dec. Austin Yant (UNI), 20-6
174: MJ Gaitan (ISU) dec. Lance Runyon (UNI), 9-5
184: Parker Keckeisen (UNI) dec. Marcus Coleman (ISU), 7-5
197: Yonger Bastida (ISU) vs. Kalob Runyon (UNI) or Wyatt Voelker (UNI)
285: Sam Schuyler (ISU) vs. Tyrell Gordon (UNI)

Attendance: 5,754
Officials: J.R. Blose, Jay Cox

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x