Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Opheim Wins Stock Car Special

by Jody Spear and Kelly Meyer –

MASON CITY – The most exciting challenge of the Stock Car Special, Sunday night at the 1-35 Speedway, was when a fluke caution had to be thrown towards the end of the race. A man, said to be the father of #7M of Sports Mods, decided he wanted to cross the track while the Stock Cars were racing. The caution put Larry Portis, #59 on Kevin Opheim’s, #44K, tail. Opheim who had led the whole race, with great distance, was now being challenged by point leader, Larry Portis. Portis gave it his best, up to the checker flag, but came up just a little short. The video shows from the beginning, where the double checkered flags were flown, Opheim jumping out to a huge lead and then after the caution, Portis giving the challenge.

The Stock Car Special, had twenty cars instead of the usual fifteen. With the prize money increased because of the sponsors C&W Used Cars, Mike’s Auto Body and Wayne Pals Auctioneering, the race was one that wanted to be won.

Levi Nielsen, #45, (pictured at top) put on his usual impressive show in the Modifieds for a second First Place in a row. Todd Stinehart and Rob Rose were second and third place finishers.

The Sports Mod saw a new winner, with Chase Ellingson taking the trophy. Second and third went to Levi Chipp and Kurt Moeding.

No real surprise, Heath Tulp and Stac Schroeder taking first and second in Hobby Stock. Chad Gentz came in third.

Modifieds – Levi Nielsen, Todd Stinehart, Rob Rose, Alex Hanson, Shane Monson, Keith Schmitz, Ron Pope, Terrance Prochaska, Nate Zimmerman, Jamie Anderson, Curt Badker

Stock Cars – Kevin Opheim, Larry Portis, Derek Green, Chad Palmer, Mick Meyers, Chris Adams, Travis Shipman, John Campbell, Andrew Inman, Shawn Wilson, Jesse Brown, Blake Cole, Austin Curtain, Joe Willier, Steve Wiltse, Chris Wiltse, Matt Baker, Dan Fehus

Sport Mods – Chase Ellingson, Levi Chipp, Kurt Moeding, Nate Chodur, George Nordman, Nick West, Kyle Germundson, Nate Whitehurst, Dan Tenold, Alex Zwanziger, Coby Bangusser, Dustin Enabnit, Matt Eberline, Zac Smith, Devlynn Sasse, Daryl Ruter, Travis Greenfield

Hobby Stocks – Heath Tulp, Stac Schroeder, Chad Gentz, Scott Dobel, Andrew Borchardt, Pat Zimmerman, Roger Haupt Jr., Travis Staley, Brad Beadle, Isaac Noelck, Jeremy Ziemke

Hornets – Kelly Miller, Ryan Bryant, Ken Winkowitsch, Scott Schlichting, Jared Schlichting, Patrick Barrett, Bobby Ruehlow

Jr. Hornets – Payne Schroeder, Spencer Cole, Oliver Monson, Lisa Cole, Sam Winkowitsch, Michael Tyler, Dylan Tyler

Watch video:


Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x