Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

ISU Footall: Rhoads places Trever Ryen on scholarship

logo_iowa_state_cyclonesAMES, Iowa – Giving a scholarship to a walk-on football player is a special moment for most football coaches, especially for Iowa State head football coach Paul Rhoads.

Rhoads was thrilled to give another hard-working walk-on a scholarship when he announced at a team meeting this afternoon that sophomore running back Trever Ryen was added to the list of 20 walk-ons in his tenure (2009-15) to receive a scholarship.

Ryen, a native of Ida Grove, Iowa, has been a surprise contributor for the Iowa State football team in 2015, leading the team in touchdowns with two.

In the season-opener vs. UNI, Ryen ran back a punt return 81 yards for a touchdown, the 10th-longest return in school history.

Ryen has carried the ball seven times for 36 yards this year, tallying his first career rushing touchdown last weekend vs. Toledo. He’s also caught four passes for 80 yards, including a 53-yard reception vs. Iowa.

Ryen’s path to scholarship football player at Iowa State is fascinating. As one of the top prep sprinters in high school, Ryen went to UNI to participate on the Panther track & field team in 2013-14. He ran the state’s fastest 200 meters as a senior at OA-BCIG with a 21.92 clocking.

After a year at UNI, Ryen transferred to Iowa State for the 2014-15 season. He contacted the Iowa State coaching staff to tell them he was interested in giving football a try. The staff obliged, offering Ryen a walk-on spot last season where he sat out as a redshirt.

He is one of 28 players in FBS this year with a punt return for a touchdown.

Walk-ons Placed On Scholarship In The Rhoads Era

Joel Zitek, 2009
Mike O’Connell, 2009
Jake Williams, 2009
Taylor Mansfield, 2010
Jeff Woody, 2010
Preston Kaufman, 2010
Sean Smith, 2010
Matt Morton, 2010
Dan Kuehl, 2010
Drew Mitchell, 2010
Reid Branderhorst, 2011
Edwin Arceo, 2013
Gage Shaeffer, 2013
Justin Coleman, 2013
Spencer Thornton, 2014
Wes Boyer, 2014
Drake Ferch, 2014
Ben Boesen, 2014
Levi Peters, 2014
Trever Ryen, 2015

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:


Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: