Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Cyclone’s Niang named to Wooden Award watch list

Georges Niang
Georges Niang

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State junior forward Georges Niang has been named to the John R. Wooden Award watch list, announced today on ESPN SportsCenter and Chosen by a preseason poll of national college basketball experts, the list is comprised of 50 student-athletes who are the early front-runners for the sport’s most prestigious honor.

Niang opened his season with an impressive performance against Oakland last Friday. The preseason All-Big 12 selection scored 30 points to go along with nine rebounds and five assists.

Niang was a third-team all-conference selection last season, averaging 16.7 points, 4.5 rebounds and 3.5 assists.

Niang and the Cyclones return to action this evening against Georgia State. Tipoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. on ESPNU.


2014-15 John R. Wooden Award®
Presented by Wendy’s®
Preseason Top 50 

Name School Conference Height Class


Cliff Alexander Kansas Big 12 6-8 Fr. F
Brandon Ashley Arizona Pac-12 6-9 Jr. F
Ron Baker Wichita State Missouri Valley 6-4 Jr. G
Ryan Boatright UConn The American 6-0 Sr. G
Malcolm Brogdon Virginia ACC 6-5 Jr. G
Willie Cauley-Stein Kentucky SEC 7-0 Jr. F
Branden Dawson Michigan State Big Ten 6-6 Sr. G/F
Sam Dekker Wisconsin Big Ten 6-9 Jr. F
Perry Ellis Kansas Big 12 6-8 Jr. F
Yogi Ferrell Indiana Big Ten 6-0 Jr. G
Marcus Foster Kansas State Big 12 6-3 So. G
Michael Frazier II Florida SEC 6-4 Jr. G
Treveon Graham VCU Atlantic 10 6-6 Sr. G/F
Jerian Grant Notre Dame ACC 6-5 Sr. G
Olivier Hanlan Boston College ACC 6-4 Jr. G
Montrezl Harrell Louisville ACC 6-8 Jr. F
Aaron Harrison Kentucky SEC 6-6 So. G
Andrew Harrison Kentucky SEC 6-6 So. G
Tyler Haws BYU WCC 6-5 Sr. G
Buddy Hield Oklahoma Big 12 6-4 Jr. G
Rondae Hollis-Jefferson Arizona Pac-12 6-7 So. F
R.J. Hunter Georgia State Sun Belt 6-6 Jr. G
Stanley Johnson Arizona Pac-12 6-7 Fr. F
Tyus Jones Duke ACC 6-1 Fr. G
Frank Kaminsky Wisconsin Big Ten 7-0 Sr. F
Caris LeVert Michigan Big Ten 6-7 Jr. G
Jordan Mickey LSU SEC 6-8 So. F
Nic Moore SMU The American 5-9 Jr. G
Georges Niang Iowa State Big 12 6-8 Jr. F
Jahlil Okafor Duke ACC 6-11 Fr. C
Kelly Oubre, Jr. Kansas Big 12 6-7 Fr. G
Marcus Paige North Carolina ACC 6-1 Jr. G
Kevin Pangos Gonzaga WCC 6-2 Sr. G
Terran Petteway Nebraska Big Ten 6-6 Jr. F
Bobby Portis Arkansas SEC 6-11 So. F
Chasson Randle Stanford Pac-12 6-2 Sr. G
Terry Rozier Louisville ACC 6-1 So. G
Wesley Saunders Harvard Ivy League 6-5 Sr. G
Josh Scott Colorado Pac-12 6-10 Jr. F
Wayne Selden, Jr. Kansas Big 12 6-5 So. G
D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera Georgetown Big East 6-3 Jr. G
Juwan Staten West Virginia Big 12 6-1 Sr. G
Keifer Sykes Green Bay Horizon League 6-0 Sr. G
Isaiah Taylor Texas Big 12 6-1 So. G
Karl-Anthony Towns Kentucky SEC 6-11 Fr. F
Myles Turner Texas Big 12 6-11 Fr. F
Fred VanVleet Wichita State Missouri Valley 6-0 Jr. G
Dez Wells Maryland Big Ten 6-5 Sr. G/F
Delon Wright Utah Pac-12 6-5 Sr. G
Joseph Young Oregon Pac-12 6-2 Sr. G

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x