Breakthrough Web Design - 515-897-1144 - Build Your Online Presence
News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the North Iowa Region
Got odd jobs in Charles City?
Mowing lawns, trimming, sweeping sidewalks, take out trash
Call Scott, 641-228-0138
Founded October 1, 2010

College Wrestling: Iowa State runner-up at Big 12 Championship

This news story was published on March 9, 2020.
Advertise on NIT Subscribe to NIT

TULSA, Okla. – Redshirt junior Ian Parker and redshirt freshman David Carr earned individual Big 12 titles on Sunday night at the Big 12 Championship at 141 and 157 pounds, respectively. As a team, No. 21 Iowa State finished second to No. 11 Oklahoma State at the conference championship with 116.5 team points.

The Big 12 Championship saw eight Cyclones finish in the top-five at their respective weights, and all eight of those individuals earning spots at the 2020 NCAA Championships. Carr (1st), Parker (1st), Alex Mackall (2nd), Gannon Gremmel (2nd), Jarrett Degen (3rd), Chase Straw (4th), Sam Colbray (4th) and Marcus Coleman (5th) all earned automatic bids to the national championships in Minneapolis, Minn., on March 19-21.

157-Pound Finals
Top-seeded Carr toed the line with OSU’s No. 3 Wyatt Sheets for the 157-pound crown. After a scoreless first period, Carr scored on an escape and a takedown in the second, and brought a 3-1 advantage into the third period. In the final stanza, Sheets scored on an escape to make it 3-2. Carr pushed his lead to 5-2 on a slick duck. Carr was able to fend off a late flurry from Sheets and went on to take the match by 6-4 decision.

141-Pound Finals
The 141-pound title bout pitted No. 2 Parker against a familiar foe in No. 1 Dom Demas of Oklahoma. Demas had gotten the better of Parker in their first two meetings this season, but Parker flipped the script when it counted in the Big 12 finals.

Just like their match up in the dual in Norman, this match went to sudden victory tied, 1-1. A winner couldn’t be determined in the first sudden victory period, and each wrestler earned an escape in tie breaker one, so the match moved to sudden victory two. Early in the period, Parker got in on Demas’ leg to secure the takedown and the Big 12 title at 141 pounds.

125-Pound Finals
In the first match of the finals, No. 3 Mackall took on Oklahoma State’s No. 1 Nick Piccininni. Piccininni struck first, scoring a takedown in short-time of the first period off a Mackall shot. The two traded escapes in the second and third periods and it was 3-1 in the third. Mackall fired off a number of attacks in the final period with Piccininni being warned for stalling. In the end, he wasn’t able to connect and Piccininni went on to win by 3-1 decision.

285-Pound Finals
The final match of the night featured No. 2 Gremmel and No. 5 Brian Andrews of Wyoming. After one period, the match remained scoreless. Gremmel and Andrews each scored on an escape to begin the second and third periods, leaving the match tied at 1-1. Andrews scored on a single-leg attack to take a 3-1 lead midway through the third period. Gremmel was able to climb out of his hold to bring the match-score to 3-2. Andrews defended Gremmel’s attack and took the match by 3-2 decision.

Big 12 Championship Notes
– Ian Parker and David Carr are Iowa State’s 212th and 213th individual conference champions
– It’s the first time since 2014 that Iowa State has had multiple Big 12 Champions
– David Carr is Iowa State’s fifth freshman Big 12 Champ (Lelund Weatherspoon, 2014, David Zabriske, 2007, Cael Sanderson, 1999, Joel Heskett, 1999)
– Back-to-back Big 12 titles for Iowa State at 157 pounds (Chase Straw, 2019)
– First 141-pound Big 12 title since 2008 (Nate Gallick)

Session Three Recap
Sunday’s third session produced four more NCAA Qualifiers for the Cyclones. Jarrett Degen, Chase Straw, Sam Colbray and Marcus Coleman all solidified their spot in the field at the 2020 NCAA Championships during the medal round.

Session Two Recap
The Cyclones entered the semifinals with eight still in the title hunt and sent four wrestlers to the Big 12 finals. The team race was still in the balance with Oklahoma State holding a slight over edge over Iowa State and UNI who were still looking at dethroning the Pokes, who have won seven-straight conference championships.

Session One Recap
Saturday morning’s first session saw the Cyclones jump out to an early lead at the Big 12 Championship. ISU posted a 10-2 record through the pigtail and quarterfinal rounds to secure eight spots in the semifinals.

Team Scores
1. Oklahoma State – 147.5
2. Iowa State – 116.5
3. UNI – 111.5
4. South Dakota State – 94
5. North Dakota State – 90.5
6. Oklahoma – 83
7. Wyoming – 75.5
8. Northern Colorado – 72.5
9. Fresno State – 57
10. West Virginia – 41
11. Utah Valley – 33
12. Air Force – 25.5

Iowa State Match-by-Match
125: No. 3 Alex Mackall dec. No. 6 Danny Vega (SDSU), 13-6.
No. 3 Alex Mackall dec. Cody Phippen (Air Force), 7-3.
No. 1 Nick Piccininni (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 3 Alex Mackall, 3-1.

133: Zach Price (SDSU) dec. No. 5 Todd Small, 11-10.
No. 7 Jack Skudlarczyk (UNI) dec. No. 5 Todd Small), 10-7.
No. 5 Todd Small maj. dec. Jared Van Vleet (Air Force), 11-3.
No. 1 Taylor LaMont (Utah Valley) dec. No. 5 Todd Small, 3-1 (SV1).

141: No. 2 Ian Parker dec. Dylan Droegemueller (NDSU), 7-2.
No. 2 Ian Parker dec. No. 7 Clay Carlson (SDSU), 8-4.
No. 2 Ian Parker dec. No. 3 Michael Blockhus (UNI), 4-0.
No. 2 Ian Parker dec. No. 1 Dom Demas (Oklahoma), 4-2 (SV2).

149: No. 4 Jarrett Degen dec. No. 5 Andrew Alirez (UNC), 4-3.
No. 1 Boo Lewallen (Oklahoma State) pinned No. 4 Jarrett Degen, 6:17.
No. 4 Jarrett Degen pinned No. 5 Greg Gaxiola (Fresno State), 4:20.
No. 4 Jarrett Degen dec. No. 5 Andrew Alirez (UNC), 5-3.

157: No. 1 David Carr dec. No. 8 Dewey Krueger (Wyoming), 11-5.
No. 1 David Carr dec. No. 4 Justin Thomas (Oklahoma), 4-1.
No. 1 David Carr dec. No. 3 Wyatt Sheets (Oklahoma State), 6-4.

165: No. 6 Chase Straw dec. Jordan Robinson (UNC), 7-4.
No. 2 Andrew Fogarty (NDSU) maj. dec. No. 6 Chase Straw, 15-2.
No. 6 Chase Straw dec. No. 5 Cole Moody (Wyoming), 9-5.
No. 4 Tanner Cook (SDSU) pinned No. 6 Chase Straw, 4:58.
No. 6 Chase Straw dec. No. 7 Adam Kemp (Fresno State), 10-8 (SV1).

174: No. 3 Sam Colbray dec. No. 6 Hayden Hastings (Wyoming), 3-2.
No. 2 Anthony Mantanona (Oklahoma) dec. No. 3 Sam Colbray, 6-5.
No. 3 Sam Colbray dec. No. 4 Kimball Bastian (Utah Valley), 4-2 (SV2).
No. 5 Joe Smith won by injury default No. 3 Sam Colbray

184: No. 5 Marcus Coleman dec. No. 4 Alan Clothier (UNC), 4-3.
No. 1 Taylor Lujan dec. No. 5 Marcus Coleman, 4-0.
No. 2 Anthony Montalvo (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 5 Marcus Coleman, 10-4.
No. 5 Marcus Coleman pinned No. 7 Tate Samuelson, 5:47.

197: No. 2 Tanner Sloan (SDSU) maj. dec. Joel Shapiro, 9-0.
No. 5 Dakota Geer (Oklahoma State) dec. Joel Shapiro, 13-7.

285: No. 2 Gannon Gremmel dec. Josiah Jones (Oklahoma), 4-1.
No. 2 Gannon Gremmel dec. No. 7 Brandon Metz (NDSU), 3-0.
No. 2 Gannon Gremmel dec. No. 6 Dalton Robertson (UNC), 10-3.
No. 5 Brian Andrews (Wyoming) dec. No. 2 Gannon Gremmel, 3-2.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available