Breakthrough Web Design - 515-897-1144 - Web sites for businesses
News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Founded October 1, 2010

UNI wrestling to host five duals as part of 2021 schedule

This news story was published on January 3, 2021.
Advertise on NIT Subscribe to NIT

CEDAR FALLS –UNI wrestling hosts Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Iowa State, Northern Colorado and Central Michigan in home duals for the 2021 wrestling season.

The schedule, released Sunday, also includes road duals at South Dakota State and Northern Illinois and neutral-site duals against North Dakota State, Missouri and Arizona State.

The Panther Train opens the season on Jan. 10 with duals against NDSU and SDSU in Brookings, S.D.

On Jan. 17, UNI wrestles two elite neutral-site duals at Hilton Coliseum in Ames, facing Arizona State and Missouri as part of a quadrangular.

Oklahoma and Iowa State come to Cedar Falls on Jan. 24 for a triangular. The Panthers wrestle Oklahoma before the Sooners face the Cyclones.

The Panthers host Oklahoma State on Jan. 30, before traveling to Dekalb, Ill. to face Northern Illinois on Feb. 5.

The Panther Train closes the regular season with three duals in Cedar Falls on Feb. 13. Central Michigan, Northern Colorado and Iowa State will be in town for a quadrangular. UNI will face all three opponents.

The post-season begins with the Big 12 Championship on March 6-7 at the BOK Center in Tulsa, Okla.

The NCAA Championship is slated for March 18-20 at the Enterprise Center in St. Louis.

UNI returns a pair of 2020 NCAA qualifiers in Jack Skudlarczyk and Carter Isley. Head coach Doug Schwab enters his 11th season at the helm.

The schedule is subject to change and additions as adjustments are made with COVID-19 protocols. Venue and capacity information will be released at a later date. Capacity restrictions will be adjusted as necessary throughout the season under UNI Athletics policy.

Date Opponent Location
Jan. 10 North Dakota State* (N) Brookings, S.D.
Jan. 10 at South Dakota State* Brookings, S.D.
Jan. 17 Missouri (N) Ames, Iowa
Jan. 17 Arizona State (N) Ames, Iowa
Jan. 24 Oklahoma* Cedar Falls, Iowa
Jan. 30 Oklahoma State* Cedar Falls, Iowa
Feb. 5 at Northern Illinois Dekalb, Ill.
Feb. 13 Central Michigan Cedar Falls, Iowa
Feb. 13 Northern Colorado* Cedar Falls, Iowa
Feb. 13 Iowa State* Cedar Falls, Iowa
March 6-7 Big 12 Championship Tulsa, Okla.
March 18-20  NCAA Championship St. Louis, Mo.

(N) Neutral
* Big 12

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available