Breakthrough Web Design - 641-201-1459 - Build Your Online Presence
News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the North Iowa Region
• Founded 2010

Commission names nominees for Iowa Court of Appeals

This news story was published on March 30, 2019.
Advertise on NIT Subscribe to NIT

DES MOINES – The State Judicial Nominating Commission has selected a slate of six nominees to fill the two vacancies on the Iowa Court of Appeals.

Public interviews of 30 applicants were completed after Chief Judge David Danilson retired on January 4, 2019, and Judge Christopher McDonald filled the Supreme Court vacancy on March 7, 2019.

The nominees are:

Mary Chicchelly
District Court Judge
Sixth Judicial District
Cedar Rapids

Jean Dickson
Betty, Neuman & McMahon, P.L.C.

Myron Gookin
District Court Judge
Eighth Judicial District

David May
District Court Judge
Fifth Judicial District
Polk City

Julie Schumacher
District Court Judge
Third Judicial District

Sharon Soorholtz Greer
Cartwright, Druker & Ryden

Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds has thirty days in which to make the appointments to the court from this slate of nominees. The application for each applicant and archived video of each of the applicant interviews is posted on the Judicial Nominating Commissions website at:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available