Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Iowa football team announces 2012 leadership group

IOWA CITY, IOWA – – Fourteen University of Iowa football players have been named to the team’s 2012 Leadership Group.  Head coach Kirk Ferentz announced the group Tuesday following the completion of spring practice.

The group for the upcoming year includes five seniors, four juniors, two sophomores and three redshirt freshmen.  A member of the 2012 incoming freshman class will be added in the fall.  The purpose of the group is to help formulate policies and enter into team decision-making matters regarding the upcoming season.

“As always, I think it’s a good representation, a good group of guys,” said Ferentz.  “I think it’s a good group, and they’ll do a good job.  I’ll actually meet with those guys this week, and we’ll talk about a few things.  The coaching staff looks forward to working with the group as we shape policies and decisions regarding the upcoming season.  This is a very important group to all of us involved with Iowa football.”

The five seniors are DL Steve Bigach, DB Greg Castillo, OL James Ferentz, DB Micah Hyde and QB James Vandenberg.  The juniors include LS Casey Kreiter, LB James Morris, FB Brad Rogers, and OL Brett Van Sloten.  WR Kevonte Martin-Manley and OL Brandon Scherff represent the sophomore class, while the three redshirt freshmen are LB Quinton Alston, OL Austin Blythe and QB Jake Rudock.

The 2012 Hawkeye Leadership Group includes:

Quinton Alston                     LB          Freshman           Sicklerville, N.J.

Steve Bigach                          DL          Senior                 Cleveland, Ohio

Austin Blythe                       OL          Freshman           Williamsburg, Iowa

Greg Castillo                         DB         Senior                 Mount Laurel, N.J.

James Ferentz                       OL          Senior                 Iowa City, Iowa

Micah Hyde                          DB         Senior                 Fostoria, Ohio

Casey Kreiter                        LS           Junior                 DeWitt, Iowa

Kevonte Martin-Manley      WR         Sophomore         Pontiac, Mich.

James Morris                        LB          Junior                 Solon, Iowa

Brad Rogers                           FB          Junior                 Toledo, Ohio

Jake Rudock                          QB         Freshman           Weston, Fla.

Brandon Scherff                    OL          Sophomore         Denison, Iowa

James Vandenberg                 QB         Senior                 Keokuk, Iowa

Brett Van Sloten                    OL          Junior                 Decorah, Iowa

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x