Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Ken Sagar re-elected as President of the Iowa Federation of Labor, ALF-CIO

Ken Sagar at Labor Temple in Mason City
Ken Sagar at Labor Temple in Mason City

DES MOINES – Ken Sagar was unanimously re-elected as President of the Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO, at the 57th annual Iowa Federation of Labor Convention, in Altoona, on August 21.

Over 150 delegates were in attendance at the convention, where they also re-elected Charlie Wishman as the IFL Secretary/Treasurer.

Sagar was first elected President in 2008. He started working for the IFL in 1997 when he was elected Secretary/Treasurer. Sagar is a members of International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW).

“The Labor movement in growing”, said Sagar “I look forward to leading this organization, working with our affiliates, and building relationships with other organizations in the state”
Wishman was elected last year, where he replaced Jan Laue, who retired in 2012. Wishman is a member of American Federation of Teachers(AFT).

The Iowa Federation of Labor represents over 46,000 union members in the state of Iowa.

Other elected to the IFL Board were: Steve Abbott, 1st district VP (CWA); Stacey Andersen at Large VP (GMP); Bruce Clark Central Labor Councils VP (APWU); Mark Fallis, 3rd District VP (NALC); Bill Gerhard, at Large VP (LiUNA); Robert Gilmore, at Large VP, (IUPAT); Bill Hanes, at Large VP (IBEW); Nick Harrington, Next Up VP (UFCW); Marty Hathaway, 2nd District VP (AFSCME); John Herrig, 4th District VP (IAMAW); Danny Homan, at Large VP (AFSCME); Ken Larson, at Large VP, (AFGE); Jan Laue, ARA VP (BCTGM); Jeff Liske, at Large VP, (UA); Jerry Nowadzky, at Large VP (IAMAW) Dan Prymek, at Large VP (LiUNA) and Wayne Sawtelle, at Large VP, (IAFF).

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x