Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Iowa and Ohio State share 2015 Big Ten Wrestling Championships

logo_iowa_hawkeyesCOLUMBUS, OHIO – Iowa and Ohio State won the 2015 Big Ten Wrestling Championships title on Sunday, tying for first place with a team score of 120.0. The Hawkeyes claimed their 35th championships title and first since 2010, while the Buckeyes won their third crown and first since 1951. Ohio State took home two individual titles, as Logan Stieber became the 14th wrestler to be crowned a four-time Big Ten Champion. This is the seventh time in conference history that there have been co-champions in wrestling, and first since 1932 between Illinois and Indiana.

Minnesota finished in third place with 108.0 points, while Michigan placed fourth (102.5) and Penn State (96.5) rounded out the top five.

Stieber was named Big Ten Wrestler of the Year and Wrestler of the Championships. The senior becomes the first Wrestler of the Year in program history after claiming his fourth-straight Big Ten individual title. Stieber is the second Buckeye to be named Wrestler of the Championships, and first since Lance Palmer in 2010. Head Coach Tom Ryan took home Coach of the Year honors, while Illinois’ Isaiah Martinez was tabbed Freshman of the Year. Martinez becomes the first Illini to win the honor.

Ohio State’s Nathan Tomasello took home the 125-pound title. Tomasello, the No. 3 seed, earned a 3-2 decision over top-seeded Thomas Gilman of Iowa. At 133, top-seeded Chris Dardanes of Minnesota posted a 7-2 decision against Wisconsin No. 2 seed Ryan Taylor to win his first Big Ten title.

Stieber earned his fourth conference crown, as the No. 1 seed defeated sixth-seeded Josh Dziewa of Iowa (TF, 3:07) to claim the 141-pound title. The 149-pound crown went to No. 2 Jason Tsirtsis, who earned a 2-1 decision over Iowa No. 1 seed Brandon Sorensen, en route to his second-straight Big Ten title.

At 157, No. 1 seed Martinez of Illinois claimed a 12-5 decision to defeat No. 2 seed Dylan Ness of Minnesota to win his first Big Ten crown. Wisconsin’s Isaac Jordan, a No. 2 seed at 165, posted a 3-2 decision over Ohio State’s Bo Jordan to win his first conference title.

Nebraska No. 1 seed Robert Kokesh claimed his second straight Big Ten title, taking the 174-pound championship with a 7-3 decision against Iowa No. 2 seed Matt Brown of Penn State to earn the crown. At 184, Michigan’s Domenic Abounader, a No. 2 seed, claimed a 7-6 decision over Brett Pfarr of Minnesota.

Penn State No. 2 seed Morgan McIntosh won the 197-pound Big Ten title, taking a 4-1 decision over top-seeded Kyle Snyder of Ohio State. Rounding out the group of individual Big Ten Champions was No. 3 seed Mike McMullan of Northwestern, who claimed a 4-3 decision over fourth-seeded Bobby Telford of Iowa.

The complete list of Big Ten individual awards and All-Big Ten honorees can be found below, while the full results are attached.

Wrestler of the Year: Logan Stieber, Ohio State
Freshman of the Year: Isaiah Martinez, Illinois
Coach of the Year: Tom Ryan, Ohio State
Wrestler of the Championships: Logan Stieber, Ohio State

Isaiah Martinez, Illinois
Dominic Abounader, Michigan
Chris Dardanes, Minnesota
Robert Kokesh, Nebraska
Mike McMullan, Northwestern
Jason Tsirtsis, Northwestern
Logan Stieber, Ohio State
Nathan Tomasello, Ohio State
Morgan McIntosh, Penn State
Isaac Jordan, Wisconsin

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x