Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Clear Lake, Mason City students among those nominated by Ernst for consideration to U.S. Service Academies

Joni Ernst
Joni Ernst
WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Joni Ernst (R-IA) announced she has nominated 42 Iowa students to be considered for appointments to United States service academies.

“It is truly an honor to nominate so many outstanding young leaders throughout our state who excel in the classroom and also in their communities,” said Senator Ernst. “During my time in the military, I often talked with my young soldiers about the four pillars I strive for, and encouraged them to strive for as well: assuming risk; leadership; service to your community and country; and, an attitude of gratefulness.

“These are important qualities for our students as they take the next step in their admissions process. Attending a service academy is incredibly hard work, but is an exceptional opportunity for our students to lead and serve our great country.”

Every year Senator Ernst, a retired Lieutenant Colonel in the Iowa Army National Guard, has the honor and responsibility of nominating Iowa students to the U.S. Air Force Academy, U.S. Naval Academy, U.S. Military Academy at West Point, and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. The admissions process at the service academies is incredibly competitive and the Iowa Senator encourages students to apply for more than one academy.

To learn more about service academy nominations, click here.

Below is a complete list of the students nominated by Senator Ernst for the Class of 2020.

United States Air Force Academy

Sydney Alsager, Jewell

Justin Ashley, Waukee

Emma Baller, Sioux City

Finn Berry, Cedar Rapids

Alan Chatfield, Muscatine

Brandon Gore, Bettendorf

Kaitlin Greene, Coralville

Alexander Gudenkauf, Coralville

Daniel Holt, Cedar Rapids

Olivia Ketron, Dixon

Jared Lagomarcino, West Des Moines

Nathan Leon, West Des Moines

Riley Lowe, Swisher

Katelynn Miller, Clear Lake

Sam Pisney, Cedar Rapids

Patrick Ramirez, State Center

Patrick Schwartzhoff, Davenport

Corbyn Shumaker, Ankeny

Andrew Shumway, Des Moines

Thomas Treptau, Lansing

United States Naval Academy

Caroline Ascherl, Granville

Finn Berry, Cedar Rapids

Evan Boss, Central City

John Buck, Dallas Center

Garrett Dunn, State Center

Peter Eckard, Milford

Abraham Fisher, Clinton

Derek Garman, Hancock

Cole Hackbarth, Spirit Lake

Glenn Hackbarth, Spirit Lake

Alexander Hepperle, West Union

Harrison Jones, Council Bluffs

Katelyn Miller, Clear Lake

Jason Nye, Urbandale

Ross Otte, Clive

Cole Patton, Des Moines

Meeghan Rodamaker, Mason City

Andrew Shumway, Des Moines

Daniel Sommerlot, Pocahontas

Hunter Wargo, West Branch

United States Military Academy at West Point

Emma Baller, Sioux City

John Buck, Dallas Center

Garrett Dunn, State Center

Christian Flege, Waverly

Zachary Gilbert, Cedar Rapids

Alexander Gudenkauf, Coralville

Harrison Jones, Council Bluffs

David Pinter, Iowa City

Patrick Ramirez, State Center

Hannah Schwartz, Ames

United States Merchant Marine Academy

Robert Beardsley, Bettendorf

Meeghan Rodamaker, Mason City

Hannah Schwartz, Ames

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: