Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Branstad joins with local officials calling for property tax reform

Gov. Terry Branstad
Gov. Terry Branstad

(DES MOINES) – Local elected officials joined Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds at their weekly news conference this morning to express their support for the administration’s property tax reform plan.

The officials note that the plan does not come at the expense of Iowa’s local governments.

“If we do nothing, those hardworking Iowa taxpayers will face a two billion dollar tax increase over the next eight years, with half that increase falling directly on Iowa homeowners,” said Reynolds, a former local elected official who served as the Clarke County treasurer. “I want to thank these local government officials who recognize our plan is an investment in Iowa’s families and small businesses.”

Branstad noted that his plan is needed for job creation in Iowa, citing conversations he’s had in all of Iowa’s 99 counties each year.

“These officials know the important roles local government plays but also know that our property tax system is making Iowa uncompetitive and costing our state jobs,” said Branstad. “We have been clear since introducing our reform efforts that any property tax reform must be permanent and all classes of property must benefit. This year, there is one key difference to our proposal: we fully backfill the revenue local governments will lose due to the tax cut.”

When fully implemented, the governor and lieutenant governor’s reform plan would reduce property taxes by $400 million. Iowa’s commercial property taxes are currently the third-highest in the nation, and for years making it difficult to attract and retain jobs in Iowa.

The growing list of local officials supporting the administration’s property tax plan is as follows:

1. Chad Airhart, Dallas County Recorder

2. Kim Chapman, Dallas County Supervisor

3. Creighton Cox, Urbandale City Council

4. Jeremy Davis, Ames City Council

5. Dave Drew, Woodbury County Sheriff

6. John Etheredge, Johnson County Supervisor-Elect

7. Brad Gaul, Cedar County Supervisor

8. Jarret Heil, Marshall County Treasurer

9. Harold Higman, Mayor of Akron

10. Don Kass, Plymouth County Supervisor

11. Jeff Kaufmann, Cedar County Supervisor

12. Dick Kirchoff, Mayor of LeMars

13. Jon McAvoy, Adel City Council

14. Gary Nystrom, Boone City Council

15. Alan Ostergren, Muscatine County Attorney

16. Noreen Otto, Newton City Council

17. Dale Petersen, Mayor of Sergeant Bluff

18. Guy Richardson, Greene County Supervisor

19. Adam Schweers, Mayor of Carroll

20. Dick Sievers, Remsen City Council

21. Dawn Smith, Mayor of Durant

22. David E. Steffens, Mayor of Lake Mills

23. Renee Twedt, Story County Treasurer

24. Jayson Vande Hoef, Osceola County Supervisor

25. Tom Walling, Oskaloosa City Councilman

26. Stan Watne, Wright County Supervisor

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: