Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Van Der Kamp Semifinalist For Ray Guy Award

Augusta, Ga. – The Augusta Sports Council announced Friday that Iowa State punter Kirby Van Der Kamp is one the 10 semifinalists for the 2012 Ray Guy Award. The semifinalists were chosen from a field of 69 candidates for the award, which recognizes the most outstanding punter in college football.

The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team.  Particular emphasis was placed on the punter’s net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line and percentage of punts not returned.  A national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners will decide the three award finalists, who will be announced on November 19.  Voters will then cast a second round of ballots to decide the winner.

Van Der Kamp has been a key weapon in Paul Rhoads’ arsenal this season. He has dropped 24 of 55 punts (.437) of his punts inside the 20-yard-line this season, with only two touchbacks. His career average of 43.5 yards on 183 punts ranks him first in Iowa State history. Iowa State currently ranks ninth nationally in net punting.

2012 Ray Guy Award Semi-Finalists

Ryan Allen (Sr.) – Louisiana Tech
Kyle Christy (So.) – Florida
Steven Clark (Jr.) – Auburn
Josh Hubner (Sr.) – Arizona State
Scott Kovanda (Sr.) – Ball State
Jeff Locke (Sr.) – UCLA
Riley Stephenson (Sr.) – BYU
Kirby Van Der Kamp (Jr.) – Iowa State
Tyler Williams (Fr.) – Marshall
Brad Wing (So.) – LSU

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x