Breakthrough Web Design - 515-897-1144 - Web sites for businesses
News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Founded October 1, 2010

College Wrestling: Iowa State scores a wins over Loras and UNK

This news story was published on January 10, 2021.
Advertise on NIT Subscribe to NIT

AMES – No. 9 Iowa State (3-0, 0-0 Big 12) won a pair of wrestling matches Sunday afternoon in Hilton Coliseum, defeating Loras (40-0) and Nebraska-Kearney (38-4).

Loras Recap
Iowa State received bonus points in six of its 10 matches in a 40-0 victory over Loras. Alex Mackall (125) had a pin and Ian Parker (141) and David Carr (157) both registered technical falls. Carr’s match vs. Daniel Ruiz ended with 2:17 remaining in a 22-4 victory.

Major decisions were recorded by Cam Robinson (149), Isaac Judge (165) and Yonger Bastida (197). Bastida had eight takedowns in his 18-8 triumph over Brady Vogel.

Nebraska-Kearney Recap
Three pins were the highlight of the second match, a 38-4 victory over Nebraska-Kearney.

Kysen Terukina, competing in his first dual match at Iowa State, set the tone with a come-from-behind 6-5 victory over Josh Portillo at 125 pounds. Terukina registered a pair of third-period takedowns with under 1:30 remaining in the match.

Zach Redding battled back for a 7-5 sudden victory over Wesley Dawkins at 133 pounds. Down 4-3 late in the third period, Redding scored a key reversal and then recorded a takedown with :20 seconds left in overtime. Ian Parker had 4:19 of riding time in his 14-4 major decision victory over Nick James at 141 pounds and David Carr was up big before securing the pin at the 4:47 mark in the 157-pound bout vs. Daniel Ruiz.

Cam Robinson posted his second victory of the day with a 9-7 win over two-time NCAA Qualifier, Sam Turner. Robinson secured a late takedown that pushed the ISU rookie over the UNK senior.

Tate Battani (184) closed out the match with a major decision followed by pins from Yonger Bastida (197) and Gannon Gremmel (285).

Iowa State 40, Loras 0
125: Alex Mackall (ISU) pinned Aidan Evans (Loras), 4:01
133: Zach Redding (ISU) dec. Zach Licht (Loras), 7-4
141: Ian Parker (ISU) tech fall Jalen Scropp (Loras), 17-1 (6:28)
149: Cam Robinson (ISU) maj. dec. Zeke Smith (Loras), 16-5
157: David Carr (ISU) tech fall Daniel Ruiz (Loras), 22-4 (4:43)
165: Isaac Judge (ISU) maj. dec. Baylor Crigger (Loras), 19-5
174: Julien Broderson (ISU) dec. Jacob Krakow (Loras), 6-2
184: Tate Battani (ISU) dec. Shane Liegel (Loras), 7-6
197: Yonger Bastida (ISU) maj. dec. Brady Vogel (Loras), 18-8
285: Gannon Gremmel (ISU) dec. Slade Sifuentes (Loras), 8-3

Iowa State 38, Nebraska-Kearney 4
125: Kysen Terukina (ISU) dec. Josh Portillo (UNK), 6-5
133: Zach Redding (ISU) dec. Wesley Dawkins (UNK), 7-5 SV1
141: Ian Parker (ISU) maj. dec. Nick James (UNK), 14-4
149: Cam Robinson (ISU) dec. Sam Turner (UNK), 9-7
157: David Carr (ISU) pinned Jacob Wasser (UNK), 4:47
165: Matt Malcom (UNK) maj. dec. Isaac Judge (ISU), 13-4
174: Julien Broderson (ISU) dec. Terrell Garraway (UNK), 9-2
184: Tate Battani (ISU) maj. dec. Hayden Price (UNK), 12-3
197: Yonger Bastida (ISU) pinned Joseph Reimers (UNK), 2:37
285: Gannon Gremmel (ISU) pinned Lee Herrington (UNK), 6:47

Iowa State vs. Loras, Extra Matches
125: Kysen Terukina (ISU) maj. dec. Julian Valtierrez (Loras), 13-3.
133: Ramazan Attasauov (ISU) pinned Zach Thompson (Loras), 2:10.
141: Charlie Klepps (ISU) dec. Mason McMillen (Loras), 5-3.
149: Ben Monroe (ISU) dec. Daniel Meeker (Loras), 8-5.
157: Carter Schmidt (ISU) dec. Zeb Gnida (Loras), 7-3.
165: Grant Stotts (ISU) dec. Matt Connolly (Loras), 11-5.
174: Mac Southard (ISU) dec. Kolton Bartow (Loras), 6-2
184: Caleb Long (ISU) pinned Abe Michel (Loras), 6:53
197: Marcus Coleman (ISU) pinned Colin Murphy (Loras), 4:14
285: Ethan Andersen (ISU) pinned Wyatt Wriedt (Loras), 2:14

Iowa State vs. Nebraska-Kearney, Extra Matches
125: Alex Mackall (ISU) pinned Jackson Nielsen (UNK), 2:41
133: Ramazan Attasauov (ISU) pinned Alec Segarra (UNK), 1:39
141: Todd Small (ISU) dec. Ryan Johnson (UNK), 10-6
149: Ben Monroe (ISU) dec. Teontae Wilson (UNK), 9-4
157: Talon Seitz (UNK) dec. Carter Schmidt (ISU), 6-3
165: Grant Stotts (ISU) dec. Wyatt Hayes (UNK), 10-4
174: Mac Southard (ISU) dec. Kaleb Canoyer (UNK), 11-4
184: Austin Eldredge (UNK) dec. Caleb Long (ISU), 17-8
197: Cody Fisher (ISU) pinned Andrew Demos (UNK), 3:41
285: Francis Duggan (ISU) pinned Connor Fee (UNK), 2:54

Attendance: 925
Officials: Josh Briscoe and Peter Mankowich

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available