Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Wrestling: Iowa beats Michigan State, 27-12

logo_iowa_hawkeyesEAST LANSING, Mich. – The University of Iowa wrestling team improved to 4-0 in the Big Ten with a 27-12 win over Michigan State today at Jenison Field House. The Hawkeyes (14-1, 4-0) won seven of nine matches and scored bonus points in four bouts.

Tony Ramos (133), Mark Ballweg (141) and Mike Evans (174) earned major decisions, and Nick Moore (165) won by fall.

Top-ranked Matt McDonough (125) extended his win streak to 40 matches by opening the dual with an 8-2 decision over Brenan Lyon. Ramos extended Iowa’s team lead to 7-0 with five takedowns, a pair of points for stalling, one reversal and a point for riding time en route to a 15-4 win over Brandon Fifield. Ballweg then gave Iowa an 11-0 advantage and earned his team-best ninth major decision with a 14-4 win over Nicholas Trimble.

Michigan State (4-7, 0-4) cut Iowa’s lead to 11-3 when Michael Kelly (149) dropped a 10-4 decision to Dan Osterman, but top-ranked Derek St. John (157) put Iowa back on the board with a 12-6 win over Ryan Watts.

Moore stretched Iowa’s lead to 20-3 with a fall over Nick Proctor. He earned his third pin of the season after erasing a 2-0 deficit and building a 14-3 edge before flatting Proctor in 6:39.

Mike Evans earned his second straight major decision with a 12-2 win over Jordan Wohlfert at 174, and Nathan Burak improved to 3-1 in the Big Ten with a 7-4 win over Luke Jones at 197.

Michigan State’s John Rizqallah picked up the Spartans’ second win with a 6-3 decision over Ethen Lofthouse (184). Michigan State added six points to the final 27-12 team score when Iowa forfeited at 285 pounds.

“We look forward,” said head coach Tom Brands. “We have Minnesota next and we need to be ready.”

The fourth-ranked Hawkeyes return to the mat Jan. 26 at No. 3 Minnesota. BTN will televise the dual beginning at 3 p.m.

#4 IOWA 27, Michigan State 12

125 – #1 Matt McDonough (IA) dec. Brenan Lyon (MSU), 8-2; 3-0

133 – #2 Tony Ramos (IA) major dec. Brandon Fifield (MSU), 15-4; 7-0

141 – #9 Mark Ballweg (IA) major dec. Nicholas Trimble (MSU), 14-4; 11-0

149 – Dan Osterman (MSU) dec. #17 Michael Kelly (IA), 10-4; 11-3

157 – #1 Derek St. John (IA) dec. Ryan Watts (MSU), 12-6; 14-3

165 – #19 Nick Moore (IA) pinned Nick Proctor (MSU), 6:39; 20-3

174 – #6 Mike Evans (IA) major dec. Jordan Wohlfert (MSU), 12-2; 24-3

184 – #19 John Rizqallah (MSU) dec. #11 Ethen Lofthouse (IA), 6-3; 24-6

197 – Nathan Burak (IA) dec. Luke Jones (MSU), 7-4; 27-6

285 – Mike McClure (IA) win by forfeit; 27-12

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x