Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Iowa’s Weisman Named to Doak Walker Award Watch List

logo_iowa_hawkeyesIOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa junior running back Mark Weisman has been named to the 2013 Doak Walker Award Watch List, announced today by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum.  The award is presented annually to the nation’s top college running back.

Despite missing time due to injuries, Weisman (6-foot, 236 pounds) rushed for a team-best 815 yards and eight touchdowns in 10 games a year ago.  He also caught 15 balls for 90 yards and a score.  His 5.1 yards per carry tied for second among league running backs last season.  Weisman’s 81.5 rushing average ranks fourth among Big Ten running backs returning in 2013.

Weisman rushed for 113 yards and three scores against UNI and a career-best 217 yards and three touchdowns versus Central Michigan in back-to-back games last season.  The 217 yards tie for the eighth-best rushing total in Iowa single-game history.  Weisman combined to rush for 330 yards and six TD’s in those two contests. He became the first Hawkeye to rush for 300-plus yards and score at least six times over a two-game span since Tavian Banks in 1997.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name the semifinalists on Nov. 14, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on Nov. 25. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on Dec. 2 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2013 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 12, on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas, Texas, in February 2013.

The award, in its 24nd year, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker.

Weisman joins Mike Meyer (Lou Groza), C.J. Fiedorowicz (John Mackey), Christian Kirksey (Butkas), Morris (Butkas, Bednarik and Nagurski) and Anthony Hitchens (Butkas and Lombardi) on preseason watch lists.

Iowa opens its 2013 season on Aug. 31 when it hosts Northern Illinois at 2:30 p.m. in Kinnick Stadium.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x