Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

College Wrestling: No. 1 Cyclone David Carr advances to Big 12 Championship

David Carr

TULSA, Okla. – Two-time defending Big 12 Champion David Carr picked up a victory in semifinals Saturday night, as he advanced to the Big 12 Championship for the third-straight year. Carr is looking to become the 16th three-time conference champion in school history and the first since Kyven Gadson won his third title in 2015.

As a team, the Cyclones sit in fifth place with 82.5 points. Missouri has the team lead with 109.5, while Oklahoma is second with 93.5. Oklahoma State is third with 90 points, while Northern Iowa is fourth with 85.

Sunday’s action begins with the consolation semifinals at 12 p.m., followed by place matches. Carr will wrestle in the finals at 7 p.m.

Six Cyclones advanced to the championship semifinals, with Carr being the lone Cyclone to advance to the finals. Carr jumped out to an early lead, recording two takedowns in the first 1:31 of the match to lead 4-2 after the first period. Starting on bottom in the second, Carr escaped :16 into the second period and added another takedown with 1:03 left in the period to lock up the victory. In the finals, Carr will face NDSU’s Jared Franek in a rematch of the 2021 championship match. Carr is 4-0 all-time against Franek, including an 8-2 decision in last year’s final.

At 133 pounds, No. 5 Ramazan Attasauov dropped a 13-3 major decision to top-seeded Daton Fix of Oklahoma State in the semifinals. Attasauov will face No. 7 Anthony Madrigal in the consolation semifinals. Attasauov defeated Madrigal 4-1 earlier this year.

No. 3 Jarrett Degen dropped a 5-4 decision to No. 2 Willie McDougald of Oklahoma in the 149-pound semifinals. McDougald recorded a takedown with :08 left to beat Degen. Degen will face No. 4 Josh Edmond of Missouri in the consolation semifinals. Degen beat Edmond 9-7 earlier this year.

Missouri’s No. 6 Jeremiah Kent defeated No. 2 Marcus Coleman 8-4 in the semifinals. Coleman will face NDSU’s DJ Parker Jr. in the consolation semifinals. Coleman beat Parker by 16-0 technical fall earlier this year.

At 197 pounds, No. 4 Yonger Bastida lost by fall in 6:57 to top-seeded Stephen Buchanan of Wyoming. The match was scoreless until Buchanan escaped early in the third period and recorded a takedown with :10 left to put Bastida on his back. Bastida will face Oklahoma’s No. 3 Jake Woodley in the consolation semifinals. Bastida is 0-2 against Woodley.

No. 3 Sam Schuyler dropped a 3-2 decision to Oklahoma State’s No. 7 Luke Surber in the semifinals. The match was tied 2-2 entering the third period. Surber escaped early and held on for the 3-2 win. Schuyler will face Oklahoma’s No. 8 Josh Heindselman. Schuyler defeated Heindselman 5-3 earlier this year.

No. 1 Ian Parker bounced back from a first-round loss with a pair of wins in the consolation bracket. Parker defeated No. 7 Darren Green of Wyoming 9-5 before ousting No. 5 Carter Young of Oklahoma State 5-0. In the consolation semifinals, Parker will face No. 8 Dylan Droegemueller of NDSU in the consolation semifinals. Parker is 3-0 all-time against Droegemueller.

After falling in the quarterfinals, No. 7 Isaac Judge rebounded with a pair of wins Saturday night to advance to the consolation semifinals. Judge defeated Air Force’s Trey Brisker 6-1 before downing Nick Knutson of Northern Colorado 10-5. Judge will face NDSU’s Luke Weber Saturday morning. Judge is 0-2 against Weber, dropping a 2-1 match earlier this year.

No. 6 Kysen Terukina defeated NDSU’s Lucas Rodriguez 6-2 before losing by fall to No. 2 Taylor LaMont of Utah Valley in 1:39. Terukina will face Missouri’s No. 5 Noah Surtin in the seventh-place match.

At 174 pounds, No. 7 Joel Devine defeated NDSU’s Riley Habisch 5-2 before dropping a 4-2 decision to No. 3 Anthony Mantanona of Oklahoma. Devine will face No. 8 Dennis Robin of West Virginia in the seventh-place match Saturday.

Iowa State Results:
125 – No. 6 Kysen Terukina
First Round – Bye
Quarterfinals – L, 6-5 vs. No. 3 Brody Teske (UNI)
Consolation First Round – W, 6-2 vs. Lucas Rodriguez (NDSU)
Consolation Quarterfinals – L, Fall (1:38) vs. No. 2 Taylor LaMont (UVU)
7th Place Match – vs. No. 5 Noah Surtin (MIZ)
133 – No. 5 Ramazan Attasauov
First Round – Bye
Quarterfinals – W, MD 9-0 vs. Garett Lautzenheiser (WVU)
Semifinals – L, MD 13-3 vs. No. 1 Daton Fix (OSU)
Consolation Semifinals – vs. No. 7 Anthony Madirgal (OU)
141 – No. 1 Ian Parker
First Round – L, 7-4 vs. Jacob Butler (OU)
Consolation First Round – W, 9-5 vs. No. 7 Darren Green (Wyoming)
Consolation Quarterfinals – W, 5-0 vs. No. 5 Carter Young (OSU)
Consolation Semifinals – vs. No. 8 Dylan Droegemueller (NDSU)
149 – No. 3 Jarrett Degen
First Round – Bye
Quarterfinals – W, 3-1 vs. Jeff Boyd (WVU)
Semifinals – L, 5-4 vs. No. 2 Willie McDougald (OU)
Consolation Semifinals – vs. No. 4 Josh Edmond (MIZ)
157 – No. 1 David Carr
First Round – W, Fall (4:54) vs. Giano Petrucelli (AF)
Quarterfinals – W, TF 18-3 vs. No. 8 Jaxon Garoutte (UVU)
Semifinals – W, 7-4 vs. No. 5 Jacob Wright (WYO)
Finals – vs. No. 2 Jared Franek (NDSU)
165 – No. 7 Isaac Judge
First Round – Bye
Quarterfinals – L, MD 13-5 vs. No. 2 Peyton Hall (WVU)
Consolation First Round – W, 6-1 vs. Trey Brisker (AF)
Consolation Quarterfinals – W, 10-5 vs. Nick Knutson (UNC)
Consolation Semifinals – vs. No. 5 Luke Weber (NDSU)
174 – No. 7 Joel Devine
First Round – Bye
Quarterfinals – L, 3-0 vs. No. 2 Cade DeVos (SDSU)
Consolation First Round – W, 5-2 vs. Riley Habisch (NDSU)
Consolation Quarterfinals – L, 4-2 vs. No. 3 Anthony Mantanona (OU)
7th Place Match – vs. No. 8 Dennis Robin (WVU)
184 – No. 2 Marcus Coleman
First Round – Bye
Quarterfinals – W, 9-4 vs. No. 7 Keegan Moore (OU)
Semifinals – L, 8-4 vs. No. 6 Jeremiah Kent (MIZ)
Consolation Semifinals – vs. No. 8 Deanthony Parker Jr. (NDSU)
197 – No. 4 Yonger Bastida
First Round – Bye
Quarterfinals – W, 4-3 vs. No. 5 Rocky Elam (MIZ)
Semifinals – L, Fall (6:57) vs. No. 1 Stephen Buchanan (WYO)
Consolation Semifinals – vs. No 3 Jake Woodley (OU)
285 – No. 3 Sam Schuyler
First Round – W, TF 24-9 vs. Terren Swartz (WYO)
Quarterfinals – W, 3-1 (SV) vs. No. 6 Brandon Metz (NDSU)
Semifinals –L, 3-2 vs. No. 7 Luke Surber (OSU)
Consolation Semifinals – vs. No. 8 Josh Heindselman (OU)

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: