Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Ferentz is coach of the year candidate

Iowa Coach Kirk Ferentz
Iowa Coach Kirk Ferentz

IOWA CITY, IOWA – University of Iowa head football coach Kirk Ferentz is one of 18 semifinal candidates for the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award. The announcement was made Friday by Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski.

Ferentz is in his 17th season as Iowa’s head coach. He has guided the Hawkeyes to a 10-0 record, the best start in program history. Iowa is ranked fifth in the College Football Playoff (CFP) rankings and sixth in both the Associated Press and Amway Coaches polls.

Among Iowa’s 10 victories are two road wins over ranked opponents. Iowa opened Big Ten play with a 10-6 win at No. 18 Wisconsin, and two weeks later recorded a 40-10 victory at No. 20 Northwestern. Alabama is the only other FBS team with as many as two road wins over ranked opponents.

The Hawkeyes began the season unranked before moving into the top 25 following a win at Wisconsin. Iowa has steadily climbed in the rankings and was ranked ninth in the initial CFP rankings before moving to fifth in each of the last two weeks.

Ferentz ranks eighth in the Big Ten Conference in both overall wins (125) and conference wins (74). He has led Iowa to 12 bowl games in the last 14 seasons, including seven January bowls. He has led Iowa to nine first-division finishes in the Big Ten, including winning the conference in both 2002 and 2004.

Iowa has won seven or more games in seven of the last eight seasons, including eight wins in 2010 and 2013, nine wins in 2008, 10 wins to date in 2015 and 11 wins in 2009. Iowa has had just one sub-.500 season in the last 15 years.

Semifinal voting for of the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year Award begins on Monday, Nov. 23 and will close on Monday, Dec. 7. The final round will include the top three coaches selected in the semifinal round. Finalist voting opens Dec. 8 and runs until Dec. 20. The winner will be announced on Dec. 21.

The formal presentation of the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award will take place at the Maxwell Football Club’s National Awards Gala on Friday, March 11, 2016, at the Tropicana Hotel & Casino in Atlantic City, N.J.

Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports Information directors, and selected national media.

Iowa closes the home season Saturday, hosting Purdue in Kinnick Stadium (11:01 a.m., ESPN2).

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x