Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Lime Creek volunteers receive awards

The Lime Creek Nature Center recently recognized its volunteers with a dinner and ceremony at the nature center. Following the dinner, the annual meeting of the Lime Creek Nature Center Foundation was held.

Al & Rita Goranson of Mason City were presented with the “Jim Walter Volunteer Award” for their many years of support for the Lime Creek Nature Center and Cerro Gordo County Conservation Board.

This award is presented to an individual or family in recognition of exceptional dedication, hard work, and beneficence towards conservation in the Cerro Gordo County Area.

It was established in 1994 in memory of Jim Walter, an initial member of the Lime Creek Nature Center Foundation Board who was instrumental in the establishment and continued growth and success of the Lime Creek Nature Center.

The Goranson’s were major donors in the acquisition of Bluebill Wildlife Area, which has become a very popular destination for area anglers and other outdoor enthusiasts.

They have sponsored numerous taxidermy mounts for the Lime Creek Nature Center and have provided financial support for special events, educational materials, bird seed, and other items in support of the nature center’s mission.

Rita is very active as a volunteer for the Iowa Ornithologist’s Union and has been instrumental in organizing the annual Christmas bird count and contributing to Iowa’s breeding bird atlas survey. She has also assisted with birding programs for children and adults at the nature center.

The following volunteers were recognized for providing 20 or more hours of volunteer service to the Lime Creek Nature Center over the past year: Virginia and Merritt Balmer, Geri Barker, James Blackmore, Donna and Richard Blanchard, Cal & Carolyn Braastad, Greg Braun, Betty Djuren, Ann Fisher, Midge Gaylor, Paul Hertzel, Tim Huey, Curt Krieger, Kay Larson, Al Libby, Kathy Nelson, Reva Pedelty, Jim and Ruth Smith, Shirley Smith, Audrey Sparks, Louise Swanson, Deb Tesar, Deb Thomas, Tim Walrod, Theresa Weaver.

“We are very grateful to all of our volunteers for whatever time they are able to give us,” said Todd Von Ehwegen, Natural Resource Manager ñ Environmental Education. “The Lime Creek Nature Center simply could not carry out its environmental education mission without them.”

During its annual meeting, the Lime Creek Nature Center Foundation recognized outgoing board members Deb Tesar, Tony Peck, and Trina Weiland for their service and elected Ellen Deets, Bruce McKee, and Alice Phillips to three year terms.
The following individuals were elected as officers for the upcoming year: Paul Hertzel – President; Michelle Rowland ñ Vice President; Ann Fisher – Secretary/Treasurer.

Remaining board members are Greg Braun, Tim Huey, Dale Mills, Gwen Smith, and Tim Walrod.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: