Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

President Trump issues disaster declaration for 30 Iowa counties

Flooding in Mason City’s East Park

DES MOINES – Gov. Kim Reynolds received word on Monday that President Donald Trump approved her request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 30 counties impacted by flooding and severe weather from June 6-July 2, 2018.

The counties included in the declaration are: Adair, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Cerro Gordo, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Dallas, Delaware, Dickinson, Emmet, Floyd, Hamilton, Hancock, Howard, Humboldt, Kossuth, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Polk, Sioux, Story, Warren, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek and Wright.

President Trump

The declaration will provide federal funding to the included counties under the Public Assistance Program. A Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance puts into motion long-term federal recovery programs, some of which are partially matched by state programs, and designed to help public entities and select non-profits. Public Assistance funds may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities and may include debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair of damaged public property, loans needed by communities for essential government functions and grants for public schools. Damage assessments in the seven declared counties showed an estimated $16 million worth of damage that could be eligible under the Public Assistance Program.

The governor also received notification that the Presidential Disaster Declaration includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state. With this funding, Iowa will be able to minimize the impact of future disasters by taking steps to reduce or eliminate long-term risk to people and property from natural hazards.

The governor requested the declaration on Aug. 1. Click here to read the letter in its entirety.

The governor had also requested funding under FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program for Buchanan, Dickinson, Polk and Winnebago counties. Federal Individual Assistance Program funding provides disaster survivors with programs and services to maximize recovery, including assistance with housing, personal property replacement, medical expenses and legal services. The request for Individual Assistance is still being reviewed.

A second request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration as a result of the storms and tornadoes that hit the state on July 19, 2018, is also still under review. That request was made on Aug. 17, and was for Individual Assistance for Marshall and Polk counties and Public Assistance for Lee, Marion, Marshall and Van Buren counties for Public Assistance.

Click here to read more from the White House.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x