Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Wisconsin to meet Ohio State for Big Ten title

ROSEMONT, Ill. – With a victory on Saturday, Wisconsin earned its third Big Ten Football Championship Game berth in four seasons and will meet Ohio State on Saturday, Dec. 6, at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis. The Buckeyes, who clinched a title game berth last weekend, were also victorious on Saturday and joined the Badgers as outright division champions.

The 2014 Big Ten Football Championship Game will be broadcast nationally on FOX with kickoff set for 8:17 p.m. ET. The winner will earn the Amos Alonzo Stagg Championship Trophy and a chance to play in one of the six bowls that comprise the College Football Playoff, including the Rose Bowl Game.

Wisconsin will make its third championship game appearance after claiming the title in 2011 and 2012 while Ohio State earned a second straight championship game berth. The Badgers and Buckeyes last met on Sept. 28, 2013, with Ohio State earning a narrow 31-24 triumph in Columbus, Ohio.

With a championship game berth on the line, Wisconsin defeated Minnesota today to end the regular season at 10-2 overall and 7-1 in the Big Ten West Division. The Badgers are on a seven-game winning streak and earned their first outright division title in four seasons after sharing first place in 2011.

Ohio State picked up a victory over Michigan today to secure a third straight outright division title and extend its Big Ten record conference winning streak to 24 games. The Buckeyes are the first program in Big Ten history to go undefeated and untied over a three-year period and the first school to go without a conference loss in three straight seasons since Minnesota from 1933-35.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x