Breakthrough Web Design - 515-897-1144 - Web sites for businesses
News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Founded October 1, 2010

NIACC’s Anderly wins wrestling National Championship at 141 weight

This news story was published on February 25, 2018.
Advertise on NIT Subscribe to NIT

Photo by Iowa Central’s Paul DeCoursey.

COUNCIL BLUFFS – Sophomore Austin Anderly became NIACC’s 13th national wrestling champion Saturday night.

Anderly stopped Lincoln’s Christian Kanzler 3-2 in the 141-pound NJCAA national title match inside the Mid-America Center to earn NIACC’s first national title since the 2016 season and sixth under head coach Steve Kelly.

Anderly (14-2) advanced to the title bout with a 7-6 win over Triton’s Tyree Johnson in Saturday morning’s semifinals. It was the fifth straight season that the Trojans have had at least one wrestler in the finals.

Anderly, who placed fifth at 141 pounds as a freshman, entered the tournament ranked No. 3.

Anderly completed his sophomore season with only a pair of losses. He lost in the finals (5-1) to Brent Jones, who was wrestling unattached from University of Minnesota, in the finals of the Worthington Open in January and lost to Iowa Central’s Eric Clarke 4-2 in the finals of the NJCAA Region XI tournament.

Clarke placed fifth at 141 pounds at the national tournament.

NIACC placed 17th in the team standings with 34.5 points and crowned two all-Americans. Freshman Noah Jackson also earned all-American honors with a seventh-place finish at 157 pounds.

Northeast Oklahoma was the national champion with 147.5 points and Clackamas was second with 124.5 points.

Iowa Central was third with 121 points. Iowa Western was fifth (86.5), Ellsworth was seventh (76.5) and Iowa Lakes was 12th (44).


Anderly major dec. Jason Groff (Camden), 19-5; Anderly dec. Cody Karstetter (NE Oklahoma), 3-1; Anderly dec. Tyree Johnson (Triton), 7-6; Anderly dec. Christian Kanzler (Lincoln), 3-2.

Joe Hatchett (190)
Joe Hatchett (190)
Tom Garcia (134)
Bob Fouts (heavyweight)
Albert White (149)
DaVaughn Perkins (157)
Glenn Rhees (174)
Nosomy Pozo (149)
Yoanse Mejias (157)
Nosomy Pozo (149)
Yoanse Mejias (157)
Shiquan Hall (133)
Austin Anderly (141)

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available