Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Branstad, Reynolds Announce Members of Governorís STEM Advisory Council

(DES MOINES) ñ Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds today announced the individuals who will serve on the Governor’s Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Advisory Council.|(DES MOINES) ñ Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds today announced the individuals who will serve on the Governor’s Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Advisory Council.

Created by Executive Order 74 , the 40-member STEM Advisory Council will be co-chaired by Lt. Gov. Reynolds and University of Northern Iowa’s President Ben Allen. The new council will work to grow Iowa’s commitment to bolstering STEM education, STEM innovation and to better position Iowa’s young people and the state’s economy for the future.

“It is with great pleasure that Lieutenant Governor Reynolds and I announce today the names of those who will serve on the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council,” said Branstad. “These professionals come from a broad spectrum of the state’s education, business and civic sectors and will work together to lead the way toward a strong future for our state in science, technology, engineering and mathematics. This group was created to advise our office on ways to improve STEM education, STEM innovation and economic development.”

Lt. Gov. Reynolds and President Allen appointed Jeff Weld, director of the Iowa Mathematics and Science Education Partnership (IMSEP), as executive director of the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council. IMSEP will become the administrative and programmatic arm of the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council, while fulfilling its current responsibilities.

Lt. Gov. Reynolds announced at the Iowa Education Summit in July the STEM advisory council, stating, “Students better prepared in STEM stand to energize Iowa’s workforce. Just as important, scientific, technology and mathematical literacy are critical to being good citizens in the increasingly complex 21st century.”

The Executive Committee members of the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council are:
Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds, Council Co-Chair
Ben Allen, President, University of Northern Iowa, Council Co-Chair
Jason Glass, Director, Iowa Department of Education
Debi Durham, Director, Iowa Partnership for Economic Progress
Teresa Wahlert, Director, Iowa Workforce Development
Gregory Geoffroy, President, Iowa State University
Sally Mason, President, University of Iowa
Rob Denson, President, Des Moines Area Community College
Raynard Kington, President, Grinnell College
John Carver, Superintendent, Van Meter Schools
Gail Wortmann, K-12 educator, Bloomfield
Don Frazer, Private employer, SynGest
Paul Schickler III, Private employer, Pioneer

Additional appointees to the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council are:
Lin Chape, Vermeer Manufacturing, Newton
Pat Barnes, John Deere, Bettendorf
Alissa Jourdan, Kemin, Des Moines
Rachel Hurley, Iowa Biotechnology Association, Johnston
Jonathan Wickert, Iowa State University College of Engineering, Ames
Victoria Sharp, University of Iowa, Iowa City
Dr. Douglas Dorner, Iowa Health Systems, Des Moines
Nancy Foerstel, Microsoft, St. Louis, Mo.
LeAnn Jacobson, Iowa Technology Association, Des Moines
Carolyn Boss, IBM, Clive
Jordan Cohen, University of Iowa, Iowa Innovation Council, Iowa City
Teresa Finken, Iowa Wesleyan College, Iowa City
Valerie Newhouse, President, Iowa Lakes Community College, Emmetsburg
Jeff Herzberg, Prairie Lakes Area Education Agency, Manson
Allison Gilchrist, St. Cecilia Elementary School, Ames
Gary Scholten, Principal Financial Group, Des Moines
Cindy Dietz, Rockwell Collins, Cedar Rapids
Craig Johnson, Iowa Academy of Science, Cedar Falls
Deb Dunkase, Iowa Children’s Museum, Iowa City
Katherine Swoboda, World Food Prize Foundation, Pleasant Hill
Kichoon Yang, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, Haymarket, Va.
Isa Kaftal Zimmerman, Massachusetts Governor’s STEM Advisory Council, Boston, Mass.
Jon Ericson, ACT, Iowa City
Senator Brian Schoenjahn, Arlington
Senator Mark Chelgren, Ottumwa
Representative Sharon Steckman, Mason City
Representative Josh Byrnes, Osage

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x