Breakthrough Web Design - 515-897-1144 - Web sites for businesses
News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Founded October 1, 2010

NIACC’s Thesing-Ritter, Low earn NFCA all-Midwest region honors

This news story was published on May 29, 2018.
Advertise on NIT Subscribe to NIT

Morgan Thesing-Ritter

MASON CITY – NIACC sophomores Morgan Thesing-Ritter and Shelby Low both earned National Fastpitch Coaches Association NJCAA Divsion II Midwest all-region honors.

Thesing-Ritter was selected to the first-team as an outfielder and Low was a second-team utility selection.

Thesing-Ritter hit .451 (74 hits) with eight home runs, seven triples and seven doubles for the Lady Trojans, who were 19-30 under first-year coach Dan Gratz. Thesing-Ritter also had 46 stolen bases and 43 RBIs in her sophomore campaign.

Thesing-Ritter, who is from Eau Claire, Wis., is NIACC’s career leader in hits (156), stolen bases (86) and runs scored (106). She also ranks second in career batting average (.471), triples (12) and at-bats (331).

Low, who is from Northwood, hit .377 (52 hits) with 15 doubles, three home runs, 31 RBIs and 20 stolen bases.

Low accumulated a career batting average of .352. She scored 79 career runs (5th on school’s career list) with 86 hits (tied for 19th on school’s career list), 20 doubles (tied for 8th on school’s career list), 10 home runs (tied for 7th on school’s career list) and 54 RBIs (17th on school’s career list).


Pitcher – Molly Jacobson (DMACC); Natalie Halvorson (Kirkwood); Katie David (Illinois Central).

Catcher – Monika Bevans (Kirkwood); Bailey Richards (DMACC).

Infield – Mia Ruther (DMACC); Rachel Stewart (Kirkwood); Madi McCoy (Illinois Central); Savannah Robertson (Northeast CC); Kacie Salazar (Iowa Lakes).

Outfield – Lauren Kuch (Kirkwood); Alexis Egan (Iowa Central); Morgan Thesing-Ritter (NIACC); Cheyenne Andersen (Iowa Central).

Designated player – Morgan Nealey (DMACC).

Utility – DoniRae Mayhew (Kirkwood).


Pitcher – Rebeckah Salgado (Williston State College); Addison Panenhause (Spoon River College).

Catcher – Sarah Salgado (Williston State College); Kenlee Wanlass (North Platte CC).

Infield – Kyliegh Bashum (Parkland College); Kaitlin Walsh (Iowa Lakes); Samantha Miner (Spoon River College).

Outfield – Shelby Youngblood (Parkland College); Leilani San Pedro (Iowa Lakes); Julia Sullwold (Iowa Lakes).

Designated player – Alexa Campbell (Spoon River College).

Utility – Shelby Low (NIACC).

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available