Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

College Wrestling: UNI beats Air Force, 28-12

COLORADO SPRINGS – UNI Wrestling won seven bouts and earned bonus points at 174, 184 and 124 to earn a 28-12 win over Air Force Sunday afternoon in Colorado.

Bryce Steiert picked up a major decision and Taylor Lujan and Jay Schwarm grabbed pins in the bout to lead UNI to the win.

The match started at 149 where Max Thomsen grabbed a 4-0 decision to put UNI up 3-0. Derek Holschlag followed with another win to give UNI a 6-0 lead. Air Force won at 165 before the Panthers rattled off back-to-back bonus-point wins with Steiert at 174 and Lujan at 184 to give the Panthers a 16-3 lead.

Air Force’s Casey Jumps won a tightly contested 1-0 decision over Noah Glaser at 197 before the Falcons picked up a pin at 285 to cut the Panther advantage to 16-12.

At 125, Jay Schwarm quickly picked up a first-period pin to put UNI up 22-12 and Drew Bennett put the match out of reach with a 9-7 win at 133. Michael Blockhus closed out the match with a 6-2 win at 141.

With the win, UNI is now 4-3 in duals this season and 3-1 in Big 12 action.

The Panthers host No. 9 Oklahoma State Saturday at the McLeod Center at 7 p.m.

149: Max Thomsen (UNI) over Dylan Martinez (AIFO) (Dec 4-0)
157: Derek Holschlag (UNI) over Trey Brisker (AIFO) (Dec 7-4)
165: Randy Meneweather II (AIFO) over Austin Yant (UNI) (Dec 7-4)
174: Bryce Steiert (UNI) over Cody Surratt (AIFO) (MD 13-0)
184: Taylor Lujan (UNI) over Jacob Thompson (AIFO) (Fall 4:48)
197: Casey Jumps (AIFO) over Noah Glaser (UNI) (Dec 1-0)
285: Kayne Hutchison (AIFO) over Bryce Esmoil (UNI) (Fall 2:32)
125: Jay Schwarm (UNI) over Graham Shore (AIFO) (Fall 1:46)
133: Drew Bennett (UNI) over Jared Van Vleet (AIFO) (Dec 9-7)
141: Michael Blockhus (UNI) over Bradley Bitting (AIFO) (Dec 6-2)

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x