Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Three nominees chosen for Iowa Supreme Court vacancy

Iowa Supreme Court
DES MOINES – Twelve Iowans applied with the State Judicial Nominating Commission to fill the vacancy on the Iowa Supreme Court that occurred upon the death of Chief Justice Mark Cady.

The nominating commission met Thursday, January 9, 2020, to interview the applicants for the vacancy. Following the interviews, the commission deliberated and selected a slate of three nominees from the group of applicants and delivered the slate to the Governor. The nominees selected are:

Joel Barrows, Bettendorf

Matt McDermott, Des Moines

Dana Oxley, Cedar Rapids

The governor has thirty (30) days in which to appoint the new judge.

The 17-member commission is composed of, eight commissioners elected by lawyers licensed to practice law in Iowa, and nine commissioners appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Iowa Senate. The names of the commissioners are on the Iowa Judicial Nominating Commissions website.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x