Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Sixteen Iowans apply for vacancy on Court of Appeals

DES MOINES – Sixteen Iowans have applied with the State Judicial Nominating Commission to fill the vacancy on the Iowa Court of Appeals that occurred when Judge Gayle Vogel retired on July 1, 2019.

Posted below is the State Judicial Nominating Commission interview schedule for the sixteen applicants. The interview schedule and applications will also be posted on the Iowa Judicial Nominating Commission website.

The commission welcomes written comments from the public about the qualifications of any of the applicants. Comments must be submitted to the commission members via email no later than 5:00 p.m. August 2, 2019 at the email addresses on the State Judicial Nominating Commission website and by email to the Secretary of the commission at

The commission will meet Monday, August 5, 2019, in the Iowa Supreme Court Courtroom on the fourth floor of the Judicial Branch Building to interview the applicants for the vacancy. The public is invited to observe the interviews in the courtroom. The interviews will be live streamed and the videos archived on the Iowa Judicial Branch YouTube channel.

Immediately following the interviews, the commission will begin deliberations to select a slate of three nominees from the group of applicants.  Once the commission selects its slate of nominees, the commission will forward those names to the governor. The governor will then have thirty (30) days in which to appoint the new judge.

The 17-member commission is composed of, eight commissioners elected by lawyers licensed to practice law in Iowa, and nine commissioners appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Iowa Senate. The names of the commissioners are on the Iowa Judicial Nominating Commissions website.

List of Applicants and Interview Schedule for Monday, August 5, 2019:

9:00 a.m. Mary Chicchelly, District Court Judge, Sixth Judicial District, Cedar Rapids

9:20 a.m. Thomas Duff, Attorney, Duff Law Firm, P.L.C., Des Moines

9:40 a.m. Joel Barrows, District Court Judge, Seventh Judicial District, Bettendorf

10:00 a.m. Paul Ahlers, District Associate Judge, Second Judicial District, Fort Dodge

10:40 a.m. Henry Latham II, District Court Judge, Scott County Courthouse, Eldridge

11:00 a.m. Joel Vos, Attorney, Heidman Law Firm, PLLC, Sioux City

11:20 a.m. Gretchen Kraemer, Assistant Attorney General, Iowa Attorney General’s Office, Johnston

11:40 am. Romonda Belcher, District Associate Judge, Fifth Judicial District, Des Moines

12:40 p.m. Timothy Gartin, Attorney, Hastings, Gartin & Boettger, LLP, Ames

1:00 p.m. Andrew Kahl, Assistant United States Attorney, US Attorney’s Office, Southern District of Iowa, Des Moines

1:20 p.m. Molly Weber, Assistant Attorney General, Iowa Attorney General’s Office, Adel

1:40 p.m. Heather Prendergast, Attorney, Roberts, Steven & Prendergast, P.L.L.C., Denver

2:20 p.m. Julie Schumacher, District Court Judge, Third Judicial District, Schleswig

2:40 p.m. Lisa Reel Schmidt, Assistant Attorney General, Iowa Attorney General’s Office, Des Moines

3:00 p.m. Craig Nierman, Attorney, Phelan, Tucker, Mullen, Walker, Tucker & Gelman, L.L.P., Iowa City

3:20 p.m. Myron Gookin, District Court Judge, Eighth Judicial District, Fairfield

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x