Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

North Iowa students receive medical scholarships

educationMASON CITY – The Christopherson Medical Scholarship Advisory Committee awarded $12,500.00 to eight North Iowa students studying medicine.

Student recipients of the Christopherson Medical Scholarship for the 2014-15 academic year include Eric Asbe (Clear Lake), Anne Epley Birtwistle, Michael Dunlay, Dalton Ebel, Carlie Eckenrod, Julia Gales (all of Mason City), Shawn Bishop (Osage), and Shea Jorgensen (St. Ansgar).

The advisory committee also recognized longtime Mason City physician, the late Dr. Edwin Kennedy for his service to the committee. Kennedy served on the committee for 40 years. “Dr. Kennedy was very committed to his love for the practice of medicine on many levels. His tenure on the Christopherson Advisory Committee showed how much he cared for the field of medicine by working to assist the next generation of physicians, year after year,” said Dr. Mark Johnson, chairman of the Christopherson Advisory Committee, local physician and previous Christopherson Medical Scholarship recipient. “Dr. Kennedy’s continuity allowed this scholarship to grow and evolve. We are thankful for his 40 years of service,” said Johnson.

The Christopherson Medical Scholarship honors Dr. Joseph and Evelyn Christopherson, who served the medical needs of Mason City for more than 30 years. The scholarship is for medical students or pre-med students at any accredited public or private postsecondary educational institution (of pre-med applicants, preference is given to NIACC students).

The NIACC Foundation manages the scholarship fund and application process.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: