Breakthrough Web Design - 515-897-1144 - Web sites for businesses
News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the North Iowa Region
Founded October 1, 2010

College Basketball: UNI’s Green and Berhow named to Lou Henson Award Mid Season Watch List

This news story was published on January 12, 2020.
Advertise on NIT Subscribe to NIT


BOSTON, MA – UNI’s AJ Green and Trae Berhow were named to the 2019-20 Lou Henson Award mid-season Watch List as announced by on Thursday. The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the nation’s top Division I mid-major player.

The award honors Henson, the former Illinois and New Mexico State coach who won 775 games in 41 seasons. Henson is the winningest coach in Illinois basketball history with 423 victories. During his 21 seasons (1975-1996), Henson led the Fighting Illini to 16 postseason appearances, including 12 NCAA tournaments and a Final Four appearance in 1989.

Henson, who is also the all-time winningest coach in New Mexico State history with 289 victories, is one of only 11 coaches to take two different schools to the NCAA Final Four. His teams have made 19 NCAA appearances and four NIT appearances.


The 2019-20 Lou Henson National Player of the Year Award will be announced in April 2020 in Atlanta, GA, site of the men’s Division I NCAA Basketball Championship.

Players on teams from the following conferences are eligible for the award: America East, Atlantic Sun, Big Sky, Big South, Big West, Colonial, Great West, Horizon, Independents, Ivy, Metro Atlantic, Mid-American, Mid-Eastern, Missouri Valley, Northeast, Ohio Valley, Southern, Southland, Southwestern, Summit, Sun Belt, West Coast.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available