Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

College Football: Iowa’s Stanley named to Manning Award Watch List

IOWA CITY – University of Iowa senior quarterback Nate Stanley has been named to the 2019 Manning Award Watch List.

Created and sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton, and Eli Manning, the award recognizes the nation’s top quarterback after bowl games. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting. This list includes 30 of the top quarterbacks across the country.

Stanley was on last season’s preseason watch list and was a Manning Award Quarterback of the Week honoree for his six-touchdown, 320-yard performance at Indiana.

Stanley (6-foot-4, 243-pounds) passed for 2,852 yards and 26 touchdowns — the second-most in the Big Ten and 22nd-most in the country — last season. His 52 career touchdowns rank fourth in program history and are the most by a Hawkeye over a two-year span. The Menomonie, Wisconsin, native also ranks ninth in career passing yards (5,351) and total offense (5,240).

As Iowa’s offensive team captain, Stanley set an Iowa bowl record for longest pass and longest touchdown pass with a 75-yard touchdown in Iowa’s 2019 Outback Bowl win over No. 18 Mississippi State.

Ten finalists for the Manning Award will be released Nov. 28, and the winner will be announced the week following the College Football playoff National Championship. In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week.

The Hawkeyes open the 2019 season Aug. 31, hosting Miami, Ohio. For ticket

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x