Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Wrestling: Missouri defeats Iowa State, 23-15

AMES – No. 5 Missouri (16-1, 7-0 MAC) defeated No. 11 Iowa State (10-4, 6-2 Big 12), 23-15 Sunday afternoon in wrestling action at Hilton Coliseum.

The two teams split the matches (5-5), but bonus points coming from two pins and a technical fall was the difference in the Tigers’ dual win.

Gannon Gremmel gave the Cyclones hope in the first match (285) when he scored a 5-3 decision over Zach Elam. Gremmel got the takedown with 0:29 seconds left in the second sudden victory period to secure his 24th win of the season.

At 125 pounds, Alex Mackall made it 6-0 ISU with a 4-2 win over Dack Punke. Mackall had a first-period takedown and then rode out Punke for 1:10 in the third period to increase his season record to 21-8.

No. 13 Jarrett Degen recorded a huge victory at 149 pounds with an 11-4 decision over No. 8 Brock Mauller. Degen fell down early, but Degen got a two-point near fall in the second period and capped off the match with a takedown with two seconds left. Mauller’s only two losses on the season (25-2) are to Degen.

Sam Colbray picked up a 3-2 win at 184 pounds over Dylan Wisman. His first-period takedown was the difference in the match.

Willie Miklus won his final match in Hilton Coliseum with a 4-0 decision over Wyatt Koelling. Miklus heads into the postseason ranked No. 5 nationally with an 18-2 record.

Next Up
Next up for the Cyclones is the Big 12 Championships, March 9-10 in Tulsa, Okla.

Match-By-Match Results
285: Gannon Gremmel (ISU) dec. Zach Elam (MU), 5-3 SV-2
125: Alex Mackall (ISU) dec. Dack Punke (MU), 4-2
133: John Erneste (MU) tech. fall Austin Gomez (ISU), 22-6 (6:20)
141: Jaydin Eierman (MU) pinned Ian Parker (ISU), 4:53
149: Jarrett Degen (ISU) dec. Brock Mauller (MU), 11-4
157: Jarrett Jacques (MU) dec. Chase Straw (ISU), 5-2
165: Connor Flynn (MU) dec. Logan Schumacher (ISU), 4-2
174: Daniel Lewis (MU pinned Marcus Coleman (ISU), 2:03
184: Sam Colbray (ISU) dec. Dylan Wisman (MU), 3-2
197: Willie Miklus (ISU) dec. Wyatt Koelling (MU), 4-0

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x