Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Iowa State’s Shayok named to Julius Erving Award Top 10

AMES, Iowa – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 10 candidates for the 2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award and Iowa State’s Marial Shayok was among those on the list.

Shayok has been one of the Big 12 Conference’s top players this season for the Cyclones. The Ottawa, Ontario native is second in the conference in scoring at 19.1 points per game.

He has a chance to become just the second player in the last 10 years to average 19 points and shoot 50 percent from the field, 40 percent behind the arc and 90 percent at the free-throw line. Only Nevada’s Luke Babbitt in 2009-10 has reached those marks. Shayok is currently shooting 50.6 percent from the field, 39.1 percent behind the arc and 88.4 percent at the charity stripe.

Shayok has scored in double figures in 22 of 23 games this season, posting 10 games with 20 or more points. He scored 24 points earlier this season against Kansas, hitting all five of his 3-point attempts and 9-of-12 shots overall from the field.

He is eighth in the Big 12 in field goal percentage, ninth in 3-point field goal percentage and fourth in free throw percentage.

In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Erving and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Julius Erving Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, California on Friday, April 12, 2019, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5. Additional awards being presented and receiving support from Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award. Broadcast information will be released by ESPN at a later date.

Previous winners of the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award include Mikal Bridges (Villanova, 2018), Josh Hart (Villanova, 2017), Denzel Valentine (Michigan State, 2016) and Stanley Johnson (Arizona, 2015).

For more information and the latest updates on the 2019 Julius Erving Award, log onto and follow @hoophall and #ErvingAward on Twitter and Instagram.

2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award Candidates
Marial Shayok, Iowa State
Dylan Windler, Belmont
Rui Hachimura, Gonzaga
Keldon Johnson, Kentucky
Charles Matthews, Michigan
Caleb Martin, Nevada
Tres Tinkle, Oregon State
KZ Okpala, Stanford
Admiral Schofield, Tennessee
De’Andre Hunter, Virginia

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x