Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

NIACC’s Flaherty, Coulthard earn first-team all-region soccer honor

MASON CITY – NIACC’s sophomore keeper Katherine Flaherty was selected to the all-NJCAA Region XI first team.

Flaherty, who is from Albert Lea, Minn., was the only keeper on the first-team. She had a 69.1 percent save percentage and tallied one shutout in the 2017 season.

Also for the Lady Trojans, Lena Oliver was a second-team selection as a forward. Freshmen Emma Eden (defender) and Kirrilly Hughes (midfield) were honorable mention all-region selections.

Oliver led the Lady Trojans in scoring with eight goals and five assists. Eden collected three goals and two assists and Hughes had two goals for the Lady Trojans, who were playing their first season since 2004.

All-NJCAA Region XI first team

Sydney Flannery (DCTC), defender; Jovanna Suarez (Hawkeye CC), forward; Laura Hallissey (Indian Hills), forward; Taylor Hiatt (Indian Hills), midfield; Ellie Finneran (Indian Hills), defender; Bruna Moureira (Iowa Central), forward; Nara Da Costa (Iowa Central), midfield; Madeleine Duncan (Iowa Lakes), forward; Veronica Herrera (Iowa Western), defender; Laura Chavez (Iowa Western), forward; Kate Reddish (Iowa Western), defender; Abby Hall (Iowa Western), midifled; Katherine Flaherty (NIACC), keeper; Ellie Gess (Northeast), midfield; Hailey Curry (Northeast), forward; Madee Bulin (Scott CC), defender.

All-NJCAA Region XI second team

Ashley TeGantVoort (DCTC), forward; Allison Keitel (Hawkeye CC), defender; Allie Schaefer (Indian Hills), midfield; Charlyann Pizzarello (Indian Hills), midfield; Ellie Priest (Indian Hills), defender; Vitoria Alves Balieiro (Iowa Central), midfield; Larissa Caldas (Iowa Central), midfield; Kylie Wellard (Iowa Lakes), defender; Sofia Colvin (Iowa Western), defender; Alex Allgaier (Iowa Western), defender; Claire Groves (Iowa Western), midfield; Lena Oliver (NIACC), forward; Valentina Haboush (Northeast), midfield; Erika Kumm (Northeast), defender; Bailey Yoder (Scott CC), defender.

NIACC honorable mention – Emma Eden (defender), Kirrilly Hughes (midfield).

NIACC sophomore Niall Coulthard was selected to the all-NJCAA Region XI first team as a defender.

Coulthard scored four goals and helped the Trojans to an 8-8 overall record and a 5-4 record in the ICCAC.

Also, NIACC sophomore Toby Jarvis was a second-team all-region selection as a defender. Sophomore Mike Merchant (forward) and freshman Harry Holland (midfielder) were honorable mention all-region picks.

Jarvis had two goals and two assists. Merchant scored nine goals with three assists and Holland scored two goals with three assists.

NIACC coach Jonathan Platt has coached 27 all-region players, including eight first-team selections. Platt took over as head coach of the Trojans in the 2012 season.

NJCAA Region XI first-team

Kapaw Htoo (DCTC), defender; Leonardo Braga (Hawkeye CC), midfield; Akean Shackleford (Indian Hills), forward; Reshon Phillip (Indian Hills), forward; Theodoro di Piero (Indian Hills), midfield; Ross Dalton (Indian Hills), keeper; Henrique Devens (Iowa Central), midfield; Guillerme Avila (Iowa Central), defender; Adam Pritchard (Iowa Lakes), defender; Gustavo Fernandes (Iowa Western), defender; Joao Burti (Iowa Western), forward; Jan Hoeffelner (Iowa Western), keeper; Kino Ryousuke (Marshalltown), forward; Eneko Lasheras (Marshalltown), midfield; Niall Coulthard (NIACC), defender; Victor Galterio (Northeast), midfield; Dario Gonzalez (Scott CC), forward.

NJCAA Region XI second-team

Hamza Abdujalil (DCTC), forward; Nikola Petrovic (Hawkeye CC), midfield; Alcides Duarte (Indian Hills), defender; Rodrigo Paredes (Indian Hills), midfield; Craig Brand (Indian Hills), midfield; Kondjo Zebina (Indian Hills), defender; Thiery Zabarel (Iowa Central), defender; Joao Villanova (Iowa Central), defender; Julio Rangel (Iowa Lakes), midfield; Kwesi Allen (Iowa Western), forward; Solomon Constant (Iowa Western), midfield; Joseph Connolly (Iowa Western), defender; Rafael Ramos (Marshalltown), defender; Rafael Vacas (Marshalltown), midfield; Toby Jarvis (NIACC), midfield; Antario Mama (Scott CC), midfield.

NIACC honorable mention – Mike Merchant (NIACC), Harry Holland (NIACC).

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:


Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: