Breakthrough Web Design - 515-897-1144 - Web sites for businesses
News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Founded October 1, 2010

AFSCME Council 61 President Danny Homan re-elected

This news story was published on July 29, 2017.
Advertise on NIT Subscribe to NIT

Danny Homan

DES MOINES – Yesterday, at the 20th Biennial Convention of AFSCME Council 61, Danny Homan was re-elected as President of AFSCME Council 61 by acclamation. The membership also approved a constitutional amendment to officially absorb AFSCME Council 72, which covers Missouri and part of Kansas.

“I am honored by our membership’s decision to place their trust in me. Much to the disappointment of anti-worker legislators who hoped to destroy our Union, AFSCME Council 61 will continue to strongly advocate for our members and all working families. We’re not going anywhere,” said Homan.

“AFSCME Council 61 members provide the services that make our communities safer, healthier, and more prosperous. We are a Union that knows that by working together in solidarity, we can make a difference for our families and our communities,” added Homan.

Homan was first elected in 2005 and will now begin his 7th term. Danny Homan was born and raised in Sioux City, Iowa. He proudly served in the United States Army from October 1971 until August 1973 as an Atomic Weapons Specialist. Danny Homan started his public employee career in June 1984 with the Third Judicial District Department of Correctional Services as a Residential Advisor at the Residential Treatment Facility in Sioux City.

Danny Homan started his career with AFSCME Iowa Council 61 in December 1987 as a Political Organizer. In February 1988, Homan was hired as a Union Representative serving AFSCME members in Northwest Iowa until July of 2005. In July 2005, Homan was elected President of AFSCME Iowa Council 61.

Susie Baker, a Drafter at the University of Northern Iowa, was re-elected as Executive Vice President by acclamation. Jerry Jones, a Correctional Officer at the Newton Correctional Facility, was re-elected as Secretary-Treasurer by acclamation.

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available