Breakthrough Web Design - 641-201-1459 - Build Your Online Presence
News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the North Iowa Region
• Founded 2010

Iowa State Hands Out Awards At Annual Football Banquet

This news story was published on March 25, 2019.
Advertise on NIT Subscribe to NIT

AMES – The Iowa State football team honored its top achievers at its annual awards banquet Sunday afternoon at the Sukup End Zone Club.

The Cyclones recorded their second-straight 8-5 season and played in the Valero Alamo Bowl in 2018, setting many records along the way.

Iowa State defeated two top-25 teams, was ranked in all six College Football Playoff polls, won its final six home games and broke the school for conference wins in a season (6-3), tying for third in the Big 12, its highest league finish in 40 years.

All-Americans David Montgomery (RB) and Brian Peavy (CB) were co-winners of the Pete Taylor Most Valuable Player Award, as the co-captains were instrumental in the teams’ success in 2018.

Montgomery was an All-American by Pro Football Focus and rushed for over 1,000 yards for the second-straight season in 2018. He ranked third in the Big 12 and 23rd nationally in rushing yards per game (101.3), recording seven 100-yard rushing games to tie for third on ISU’s season list.

Montgomery, who became the fourth player in school history to earn All-America honors multiple times, ended his outstanding Cyclone career sixth in career rushing (2,925) and eighth in career rushing touchdowns (26) in the ISU record book.

Peavy, a two-time team captain and four-time All-Big 12 selection, was the Cyclones’ heart and soul on defense. The four-year starter who accumulated 47 career starts, had 57 tackles, an interception and led the team forced fumbles (3) in 2018.

Peavy earned All-America honors by Pro Football Focus and became the first player in school history to earn a victory against every league opponent throughout a four-year career. He ended his career with 289 tackles, six interceptions and six forced fumbles.

All-American wide receiver Hakeem Butler won the Ray Scott Outstanding Offensive Skill Player Award after recording the finest individual season by a wideout in Cyclone history.

Butler broke or matched season school records in receiving yards (1,318), yards per reception (22.0) and 100-yard receiving games (6). He ranked third nationally in yards per reception (22.0) and ninth in the nation in yards per game (101.4).

Butler, who also had nine touchdown catches, one shy from the school mark, accounted for 10 of ISU’s 14 plays from scrimmage of 40 or more yards. He ended his career with a 192-yard performance vs. Washington State in the Valero Alamo Bowl, the most receiving yards by a Cyclone in a bowl game.

Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year Greg Eisworth won the Al & Dean Knudson Outstanding Defensive Skill Player Award.

The sophomore safety was outstanding in his first season with the Cyclones, leading the team in tackles (87) in 12 games played. He was a First-Team All-Big 12 recipient.
Eisworth led the team in tackles in five of 12 game played, including two double-digit tackle efforts.

The Dury Moss Outstanding Newcomer Award went to Brock Purdy (QB), Mike Rose (LB) and Zach Petersen (ST-LB).

2018 Iowa State Football Awards
Pete Taylor Most Valuable Player: David Montgomery and Brian Peavy
Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Will McDonald
Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Robert Hudson
Special Teams Scout Team Player of the Year: Tory Spears
Academic Award: Spencer Benton
Ennis Haywood Consideration Award: Will Windham
Ruben J. Miller Award: Conner Greene
Dury Moss Outstanding Newcomers of the Year: Brock Purdy, Mike Rose and Zach Petersen
Outstanding Walk-On Player: Collin Olson, Braxton Lewis and Connor Assalley
Bill Dailey Unsung Hero Award: Sam Seonbuchner, D’Andre Payne, Spencer Benton and Reggan Northrup
Ray Scott Outstanding Offensive Skill Player: Hakeem Butler
Al and Dean Knudson Outstanding Defensive Skill Player: Greg Eisworth
Arthur Floyd Scott Outstanding Defensive Lineman: Ray Lima and JaQuan Bailey
Arthur Floyd Scott Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Josh Knipfel
Jim Doran Outstanding Special Teams Player: Dylan Soehner
Ralph Aulmann Memorial Captain Award: Kyle Kempt, David Montgomery, Brian Peavy and Ray Lima

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available