Breakthrough Web Design - 641-201-1459 - Build Your Online Presence
News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the North Iowa Region
Expert Web Design
for your business

CALL 641-201-1459
• Founded 2010

Iowa State Director of Athletics Jamie Pollard to join NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee

This news story was published on March 8, 2019.
Advertise on NIT Subscribe to NIT

Jamie Pollard

AMES – Iowa State Director of Athletics Jamie Pollard will join the 10-member NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee beginning Sept. 1, 2019. He will serve a five-year term.

The prestigious committee is charged with selecting, seeding and bracketing the men’s field for the NCAA Tournament. Administrators are nominated by their conferences.

“It’s an unbelievable honor to have the opportunity to serve on this prominent committee,” Pollard said. “Many of my peers, who have served previously, said it was a one-in-a-lifetime professional opportunity that I will cherish forever. It will be a heavy workload and require me to miss attending the next five Big 12 basketball tournaments, as well as our wrestling, and men’s and women’s basketball team’s participation in their respective NCAA tournaments. However, I am confident our department will not miss a beat because we have an outstanding senior leadership team who is more than capable of leading our department. I want to thank Big 12 Commissioner Bob Bowlsby for supporting my candidacy and I’m excited to represent our conference on this national stage.”

Each committee member is responsible for monitoring approximately seven conferences throughout the playing season.

“I am thrilled that Jamie is being added to this committee,” Iowa State Head Men’s Basketball Coach Steve Prohm said. “It’s an amazing honor for Jamie personally and it’s exciting for Iowa State to be represented on a committee of this stature. Jamie is highly respected on the college basketball landscape and he is a person of great integrity and judgment, which will serve the committee perfectly.”

The only other Cyclone Athletics Director to serve on the committee is Gene Smith, who began his term in 1999.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available