Breakthrough Web Design - 515-897-1144 - Web sites for businesses
News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Founded October 1, 2010

Cyclone coach Matt Campbell hand out swards at football banquet

This news story was published on December 5, 2016.
Advertise on NIT Subscribe to NIT

Matt Campbell, Iowa State head football coach

Matt Campbell, Iowa State head football coach

AMES, Iowa – The Iowa State football team held its awards banquet Sunday afternoon at the Sukup End Zone Club, as head coach Matt Campbell presented this season’s honors to the members of the team.

Junior wide receiver Allen Lazard produced one of the greatest seasons for a wideout in school history in 2016 and was rewarded by earning Pete Taylor Most Valuable Player honors. Lazard led the Cyclones in receptions (69), receiving yards (1,018) and touchdown receptions (7), ranking second and third, respectively, on ISU’s season record list.

Lazard, who was also winner of the Ray Scott Outstanding Skill Player Award, broke the school record for 100-yard receiving games (6) and is only seven receptions shy from breaking the career school record currently held by Todd Blythe (176, 2004-07).

Senior cornerback Jomal Wiltz won the Al and Dean Knudson Award as the team’s top defensive skill player. Wiltz had 49 tackles, 2.0 TFL, nine PBU and tied for the team lead in interceptions with two.

The Dury Moss Outstanding Newcomer Award went to offensive lineman Brian Bobek, defensive back D’Andre Payne and long snapper Steve Wirtel.

Seniors Mitchell Meyers and Nick Fett were awarded ISU’s top defensive and offensive lineman, respectively. Meyers started all 12 games at defensive end after sitting out the 2015 season while battling Hodgkin’s lymphoma. He finished the year with 28 tackles and 4.5 TFL. Fett started all 12 games at guard, helping the Iowa State offense produce record-setting numbers.

2016 Iowa State Football Awards
Pete Taylor Most Valuable Player: Allen Lazard
Defensive Scout Team Players of the Year: Jatairis Grant and Aaron Austin
Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Kyle Kempt
Special Teams Scout Team Player of the Year: Anthony Lazard
Academic Award: Mitchell Meyers
Ennis Haywood Consideration Award: Mitchell Harger
Ruben J. Miller Award: Brian Bonacci
Dury Moss Outstanding Newcomers of the Year: Brian Bobek, D’Andre Payne, Steve Wirtel
Outstanding Walk-On Players: Brian Seda, Spencer Benton, Chris Francis
Bill Dailey Unsung Hero Award: Joel Lanning, Kane Seeley
Ray Scott Outstanding Offensive Skill Player: Allen Lazard
Al and Dean Knudson Outstanding Defensive Skill Player: Jomal Wiltz
Arthur Floyd Scott Outstanding Defensive Lineman: Mitchell Meyers
Arthur Floyd Scott Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Nick Fett
Jim Doran Outstanding Special Teams Players: Josh Jahlas and Cole Netten
Ralph Aulmann Memorial Captain Award: Allen Lazard, Joel Lanning, Mitchell Meyers, Kamari Cotton-Moya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available