Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

NIACC student-athletes receive NJCAA academic awards

niacc_trojans_logoMASON CITY – A total of 16 NIACC student-athletes have been awarded NJCAA honors for their academic achievement in the 2015-16 school year.

NIACC’s Kendall Cornick (softball) and Trudy Peterson (volleyball) received Pinnacle status for having a 4.00 grade point average.

NIACC’s Zach Nicholson (men’s golf), Tricia Notermann (softball), Keisuke Ohtani (men’s track and field), Chris Staudt (men’s golf) and Bailey Walter (volleyball, women’s golf) received Superior status for having a GPA of 3.80 to 3.99.

NIACC’s Matt Baker (men’s basketball), Riley Galvin (women’s basketball, softball), Chase Lester (men’s basketball), Brandon Michie (baseball), Lexi Pederson (softball), Collin Platts (baseball), Sara Tefft (softball), Georgina Wirth (women’s basketball) and Brandon Nordman (men’s golf) received Exemplary status for having a GPA of 3.60 to 3.79.

The NJCAA recognized a record-number 4,587 student-athletes for their success in the classroom Tuesday with the presentation of the 2015-16 NJCAA Academic Student-Athlete Awards.

Of the 57,472 student-athletes that participated in the NJCAA during the 2015-16 academic year, 7.98 percent earned national academic honors – over double the previous mark of 3.31 percent set last year.

Also 66 NIACC student-athletes received 2016 spring academic NJCAA Region XI honors.

Earning all-region academic awards were:

Baseball – Brandon Michie (first team), Collin Platts (first team), Spencer Halloran (first team), TJ Nicholson (first team), Austin LaDoux (second team), Connor Enochs (second team), Dan Loats (second team), Danny Beizer (second team), Derek Lieurance (second team), Jose De La Cruz (second team), Juan De La Cruz (second team), Malique Ziegler (second team), Nick Eckberg (second team), Noah Egger (second team), Ryan Huntington (second team), Shaylon Lahr (second team), Tony Grabowske (second team), Tyler Jacobsen (second team).

Men’s basketball – Chase Lester (first team), Court Christianson (first team), Matt Baker (first team), Angus Fischer (second team), Boy Van Vliet (second team), Jaevon McClain (second team), Noah Eichenberger (second team).

Men’s golf – Brandon Nordman (first team), Chris Staudt (first team), Kenton Waters (first team), Zach Nicholson (first team), Brandon Hebel (second team).

Men’s track and field – Gabriel Lopes Antonio (first team), Keisuke Ohtani (first team), Aaron Hardcastle (second team), Alex VanderPloeg (second team), John Enright (second team), Nick Frenz (second team).

Softball – Kendall Cornick (first team), Lexy Pederson (first team), Lindsey Mason (first team), Riley Galvin (first team), Sara Tefft (first team), Tricia Notermann (first team), Becca Huberty (second team), Brittany Florea (second team), Elise Powers (second team), Katie LaBuda (second team), Sammie Sproul (second team), Sara Steinman (second team).

Women’s basketball – Georgina Wirth (first team), Galvin (first team), Savannah Lentz (first team), Trudy Peterson (first team), Anna Eckert (second team), Courtney Larson (second team), Mary Evans (second team), Sproul (second team).

Women’s golf – Lentz (first team), Alyssa Purman (second team), Bailey Walter (second team), Carlie Eckenrod (second team).

Women’s track and field – Sarah Snavely (first team), Cally Mueller (second team), Jordan Lane (second team), Kendra Schmidt (second team), Sola Stephenson (second team), Taylor Glawe (second team).

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x