Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Iowa’s Scherff named finalist for 2014 Outland Trophy

logo_iowa_hawkeyesIOWA CITY – University of Iowa senior offensive lineman Brandon Scherff is one of three finalists for the 2014 Outland Trophy. The finalists were unveiled Tuesday evening on The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special on ESPNU. The winner of the 69th Outland Trophy will be revealed on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 11 from 7-9 p.m. ET.

The 24th annual show will be hosted by Rece Davis, who will be joined by Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit, Desmond Howard, Tom Rinaldi and Samantha Ponder from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.

“The individual recognition for Brandon is well deserved, not only for his play this season, but also for the role he has played as a leader in this program,” said Iowa head coach Kirk Ferentz. “He’s playing his best football. He returned for his final season to improve. He has done that and has been a great teammate in the process. Brandon is clearly one of the most exceptional players I have had the pleasure of working with during my 25 years at Iowa and six in the NFL.”

Scherff is a 6-foot-5, 320-pound left tackle who has started all 11 games this season. He has 24 consecutive starts since missing the final five games of the 2012 season because of a major injury. He has started 34 career games.

Scherff has helped the Hawkeyes post a 7-4 record to date, including a 4-3 Big Ten Conference mark. He was also a semifinal candidate for the 2014 Rotary Lombardi Award. Earlier this season Scherff was named a first-team mid-season All-American by,, and Phil Steele. Prior to the season, Scherff was one of five players named to the Big Ten Conference West Division Players to Watch list.

Scherff started all 13 games in 2013 as Iowa posted an 8-5 record. He was named second-team All-America by the Football Writers Association (FWAA) and third-team All-America by both Athlon Sports and Lindy’s. He earned first-team All-Big Ten honors from league coaches and was Iowa’s offensive Most Valuable Player. He has been a member of Iowa’s Leadership Group the last four years.

Three Hawkeyes have previously won the Outland Trophy; Calvin Jones (1955), Alex Karras (1957), and Robert Gallery (2003). Mike Devlin was a semifinalist in 1992.

The Outland Trophy, which has been awarded annually by the FWAA since 1946, is named after the late John Outland, an All-American lineman at the University of Pennsylvania in the late 1800s. The Outland Trophy is the third-oldest award in major college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x