Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Iowa’s Marble, ISU’s Kane and Ejim named to All-District VI team

Roy Devyn Marble
Roy Devyn Marble

IOWA CITY – University of Iowa senior guard Roy Devyn Marble was named Tuesday to the 10-player All-District VI team by the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA). The all-district honor comes one day after being recognized on the All-Big Ten first team.

Marble, a native of Southfield, Mich., became the first Hawkeye since Adam Haluska in 2007 to garner all-district accolades. He is averaging 17 points, 3.4 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 1.8 steals per game through 31 games. He is the only conference player to average 17 or more points and collect more than 55 steals. In all games, Marble ranks fifth in the league in steals, sixth in scoring and 10th in assists. In Big Ten games only, he ranked second in scoring (18.3).

DeAndre Kane
DeAndre Kane

Marble (6-foot-6, 200 pounds) is one of two Big Ten players since 1985-86 to amass 1,650+ points, 375+ assists, 450+ rebounds and 170+ steals. He ranks sixth in Iowa career scoring with 1,662 points and seventh in steals (173). He has scored 21 points or more 11 times as a senior, including five of the last eight games.

Joining Marble on the 10-player squad is Cleanthony Early (Wichita State); Melvin Ejim (Iowa State); Joel Embiid (Kansas); DeAndre Kane (Iowa State); Doug McDermott (Creighton); Terran Petteway (Nebraska); Marcus Smart (Oklahoma State); Fred VanVleet (Wichita State); and Andrew Wiggins (Kansas).

Iowa (20-11, 9-9) will open play in the Big Ten Tournament on Thursday, March 13 against Northwestern (13-18, 6-12). Game time is approximately 8 p.m. (CT) at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis (ESPN2). Iowa is the sixth seed and Northwestern the No. 11 seed. The winner will meet third-seeded Michigan State on Thursday (BTN, 8 p.m., CT).

[poll random]

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: