Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Iowa second at Big Ten wrestling tourney

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Penn State won its fourth-straight Big Ten Wrestling Championships title on Sunday, claiming first place with a score of 140.5. The Nittany Lions become just the fifth school to win four consecutive conference titles and the first since Iowa won 25 successive crowns from 1974-1998. Penn State took home two individual titles, as Ed Ruth and David Taylor closed their careers as just the 12th and 13th wrestlers to be crowned four-time Big Ten Champions.

Iowa finished in second place with 134 points, while Minnesota took third with 114.5. Fourth-place Ohio State (86.5 points) and fifth-place Nebraska (79 points) rounded out the top five.

Taylor was named Big Ten Wrestler of the Year and Wrestler of the Championships. The senior becomes just the second grappler to be named Wrestler of the Year three times, joining Iowa’s Mark Ironside (1996-98). He is also the fourth consecutive Nittany Lion to be named Wrestler of the Championships. Head Coach Cael Sanderson took home Coach of the Year honors for the fourth year in a row, while Northwestern’s Jason Tsirtsis was tabbed Freshman of the Year. Tsirtsis becomes the second Wildcat to win the honor, joining Scott Schatzman in 1996.

For the second straight year, Illinois’ Jesse Delgado took home the 125-pound title. Delgado, the No. 2 seed, earned a 3-2 victory over top-seeded Nico Megaludis of Penn State in the second tiebreaker round. At 133, top-seeded Tony Ramos of Iowa posted a 2-1 decision against Wisconsin No. 2 seed Tyler Graff to win his first Big Ten title.

Ohio State’s Logan Stieber earned his third conference crown, as the No. 2 seed picked up a 7-3 decision against Penn State No. 1 seed Zain Retherford to claim the 141-pound title. The 149-pound crown went to No. 3 seed Tsirtsis, who earned a 6-2 decision against top-seeded Jake Sueflohn of Nebraska to clinch his first Big Ten title.

At 157, No. 2 seed James Green of Nebraska scored a 7-4 decision to defeat No. 4 seed Derek St. John of Iowa and take home the Huskers’ first individual wrestling crown. Taylor, a No. 1 seed at 165, won his fourth Big Ten title in as many seasons, earning the championship with a 14-5 major decision against Iowa No. 2 seed Nick Moore.

Nebraska No. 1 seed Robert Kokesh claimed the Huskers’ second Big Ten title, taking the 174-pound championship with a 6-4 decision against Iowa No. 3 seed Mike Evans to earn the crown. Top-seeded Ruth claimed his fourth consecutive Big Ten title, earning a 10-2 major decision over Iowa’s third-seeded Ethen Lofthouse at 184.

Ohio State No. 2 seed Nick Heflin won the 197-pound Big Ten title, taking a 5-3 sudden victory over top-seeded Morgan McIntosh of Penn State. Rounding out the group of individual Big Ten Champions was fifth-seeded heavyweight Tony Nelson of Minnesota, who took a 2-1 sudden victory against Indiana No. 2 seed Adam Chalfant to win his third conference crown.

The complete list of Big Ten individual awards and All-Big Ten honorees can be found below, while the full results are attached.


Wrestler of the Year: David Taylor, Penn State

Freshman of the Year: Jason Tsirtsis, Northwestern

Coach of the Year: Cael Sanderson, Penn State

Wrestler of the Championships: David Taylor, Penn State


Jesse Delgado, Illinois

Tony Ramos, Iowa

Tony Nelson, Minnesota

James Green, Nebraska

Robert Kokesh, Nebraska

Jason Tsirtsis, Northwestern

Nick Heflin, Ohio State

Logan Stieber, Ohio State

Ed Ruth, Penn State

David Taylor, Penn State

[poll random]

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x