Breakthrough Web Design - 515-897-1144 - Web sites for businesses
News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Founded October 1, 2010

NIACC’s Hergert to receive NJCAA regional coach of year award tonight

This news story was published on January 3, 2014.
Advertise on NIT Subscribe to NIT

Travis Hergert

Travis Hergert

DALLAS – NIACC baseball coach Travis Hergert will be honored tonight at the 2014 American Baseball Coaches Association convention as a regional coach of the year.

Hergert, who is in his second year as coach of the Trojans, was selected as the 2013 ABCA/Diamond NJCAA Division II North Plains District coach of the year.

The banquet at the Dallas Hilton Anatole starts at 6 p.m. tonight.

Hergert guided NIACC to its first-ever appearance in the NJCAA Division II World Series in 2013. The Trojans (31-18) won their first two games at the World Series before dropping their final two to place fifth.

NIACC claimed the NJCAA Region XI title with an 8-6 win over Iowa Central.

In the North Plains district tournament, the Trojans topped Miles Community College and Dakota County Technical College twice to earn their bid to the World Series.

NIACC opens its 2014 season on Feb. 14 at the Flag City Classic in Millington, Tenn.

The following is a list of the 2013 NJCAA Division II regional coaches of the year:
East district – Roger Bidwell (UConn-Avery Point); Midwest district – Nate Metzger (Heartland CC); North Central district – Mike Davenport (Madison College); North district – Mike Cupples (Grand Rapids CC); North Plains district – Travis Hergert (NIACC); Northeast district – Chris Pensak (Lackawanna College); Plains district – Zach Crabtree (Murray State College); South district – Jeff Willis (LSU-Eunice); Southeast district – Robert Allen (Brunswick CC); Southwest district – Alex Cherney (Scottsdale CC).

National coach of the year – Crabtree (Murray State College).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available