Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Former NIACC wrestler to be inducted into IHSAA hall of fame

Former NIACC wrestler Joe Corso will be inducted into the Iowa High School Athletic Association Hall of Fame on Feb. 22 at the state wrestling tournament in Des Moines.

Corso, a two-time all-American at NIACC in 1972 and 1973, was a state champion at West Des Moines Valley in 1971 and a state runner-up in 1970. Corso was inducted into the NIACC Hall of Fame in 2006.

Other wrestling honorees are  coach John Siegel (Morning Sun) and wrestlers Davenport Assumption’s Pete Bush (1979), Eagle Grove’s Jeff Coltvet (1984) and Westwood’s Jeff Harrison (2000).

Those being honored in basketball on March 15 at the boys state basketball tournament are coaches Bob Haak of Spencer and Steve Blazek of Atlantic and players Pleasantville’s Lloyd Thornburg (1968), Southeast Polk’s Mark West (1977), Sioux City North’s Jeff Donaldson (1983), Bellevue Marquette’s Robbie Sieverding (1997) and Mason City’s Jeff Horner (2002).

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x