Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Iowa trounces Gophers, 23-7

logo_iowa_hawkeyesMINNEAPOLIS – The Iowa football team defeated Minnesota, 23-7, today inside TCF Bank Stadium to retain the Floyd of Rosedale trophy. Iowa has won 10 of the last 13 meetings in the series. Iowa is 2-0 in trophy games in 2013. The Hawkeyes defeated Iowa State, 27-21, in the battle for the Cy-Hawk Trophy on Sept. 14.

Iowa has won four of its last five Big Ten openers, including two in a row against Minnesota. The Hawkeyes are now just two wins away from the 300th conference win in school history (298-359-25).

The Hawkeyes rushed 45 times for 246 yards today. Iowa has rushed for 200-plus yards in five straight games to start the season (202 vs. Northern Illinois; 298 vs. Missouri State; 218 at Iowa State; 258 vs. Western Michigan; 246 at Minnesota).

The Hawkeyes held the Gophers 252 yards below their season average for rushing yards. Minnesota entered the game averaging 282 rushing yards per game, but managed just 30 yards on 27 carries against Iowa. Iowa’s defense has not allowed a rushing touchdown this season. Hawkeye opponents have rushed 145 straight times without a score.

Iowa outscored Minnesota 14-0 in the second quarter. The Hawkeyes have outscored their opponents 72-10 in the second quarter this season.

Iowa owned a 2-1 advantage in turnover margin. The Hawkeyes recorded two interceptions and threw one interception. LB James Morris and LB Christian Kirksey each had interceptions for Iowa. The Hawkeyes are 4-0 this season when winning the turnover margin. Iowa has recorded eight interceptions through five games. DB B.J. Lowery leads Iowa with three interceptions. SS Tanner Miller and Morris each have two, and Kirksey has one. Iowa is plus-5 in turnover margin this season.

Iowa held its opponent scoreless in the first quarter for the fourth straight game. Minnesota ran 11 plays for 27 yards in the first quarter.

The Hawkeyes recorded a season-high four sacks today. DL Nate Meier’s 6-yard sack in the second quarter was the first sack of his career. DL Louis Trinca-Pasat’s 6-yard sack in the second quarter was the first sack of his career. LB James Morris and DL Dominic Alvis also recorded sacks for Iowa.

WR Damond Powell’s 74-yard touchdown reception in the second quarter is Iowa’s longest play from scrimmage this season, and the 23rd longest touchdown reception in school history. Powell is averaging 51.5 yards per catch this season (4 catches, 206 yards).

Iowa has not allowed a first-half touchdown in four straight games. Iowa has held Minnesota scoreless in the first half each of the last two seasons, and limited Minnesota to 80 total yards in the first half today.

TE C.J. Fiedorowicz and WR Kevonte Martin-Manley each extended their streak of consecutive games with a reception to 23.

LB Anthony Hitchens finished the game with a team-high 10 tackles to raise his career total to 205.

RB Mark Weisman had 24 carries for 147 yards. The 100-yard rushing game was his fourth of the season, and eighth of his career.

QB Jake Rudock’s 4-yard touchdown rush in the second quarter was his fifth rushing touchdown this season. The last Iowa quarterback to rush for more than five touchdowns in a single season was Nathan Chandler (6 in 2003).

TE Ray Hamilton made his first career start today.

LB Christian Kirksey’s interception in the second quarter was the fourth of his career, and first this season. LB James Morris’ interception was his second of the season, and fourth of his career.

Mike Meyer was 3-4 on field goal attempts and 2-2 on PATs. Meyer has 53 career field goals, the third highest total in school history. Only Nate Kaeding (67) and Rob Houghtlin (54) have more career field goals. Meyer also moved into third place on Iowa’s all-time scoring list. He has 278 career points, trailing only Kaeding (373) and Houghtlin (290).

FB Adam Cox’s 35-yard reception in the second quarter was the longest of his career. The play set up Iowa’s first touchdown of the day.

Senior PK Mike Meyer has made a school-record 100 consecutive PAT attempts, the sixth longest streak in Big Ten Conference history. That active streak ranks fourth in the nation (Baylor’s Aaron Jones, 125; Northwestern’s Jeff Budzien 116; Michigan’s Brendan Gibbons, 114). Meyer’s last PAT miss was in a 37-6 win over Michigan State on Oct. 30, 2010, in Iowa City. As a team, Iowa has gone 35 consecutive games without a missed or blocked PAT.

The Hawkeyes have converted on 101 consecutive PATs without a miss or block, and 35 consecutive games without a missed or blocked PAT, the seventh longest streak of any school in the nation.

Minnesota won the toss and elected to defer to the second half. Iowa has started the game on offense in 145-of-179 games under Kirk Ferentz, including two times this season. The Hawkeyes started on offense against Northern Illinois (L, 30-27), and at Minnesota (W, 23-7).

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x